Skip to main content

Full text of "Prague and Its Environs"

See other formats


Google 



This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 

to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 

to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 

are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other maiginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 

publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing tliis resource, we liave taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 
We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain fivm automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attributionTht GoogXt "watermark" you see on each file is essential for in forming people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liabili^ can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 

at |http: //books .google .com/I 




ym g PROPERTY OF ^ 

Mchlgm 



Jlkaries\ 




' »i 7 



ARTES SCIENTIA VERITAS 





PRAGUE 



AND ITS 

ENVIRONS 



The Map Accompanying This 
Text Is In 
THE UNIV. OF MICH. , 
MAP COLLEGION /' 



/ 



; 



CHARLES BELLMANN 
PUBLISHER PRAGUE 

1905. 



^ 




WITH A LARGE MAP OF THE 
CITY, A COMPLETE LIST o o 
OF STREETS AND SQUARES 
AND 16 PHOTOTYPE PRINTS 



PRINTER 

CHARLES BELLMANN 

IN PRAGUE 



k 




The Powder Toi 



I 



\ 



r 



J 






Alphabetical Index. 



DJ5 



rage 

. 2k.bbey St. Margareth ... 45 

. iegidiuB church 12 

Agnescloister 35 

All Saint8-Church 31 

. Altnenschule 34 

, Altstadt (Old Town) .... 7 
f Vrchiepiscopal Palace ... 23 
. Archiepiscopal Seminary . . 15 
. ilstroDomic clock 9 

; ISaumgarteo 44 

i: 3elYedere 32 

I 3enedictine-Abbey Emaas . 41 
I ^etlehemsplatz (Betlemsk^ 

ndm^sti) 12 

;• Bohemian Diet- House ... 20 

i Bohemian Industrial Museum 12 

|. Bohemian Polytechnicum . . 89 

Bdhmische Sparkassa ... 14 

Bridge -Tower of the little 

Town 17 

Bridge-Tower of the old Town IG 

Oapuchin's Hospice . . . .36 
Capuchin -Monastery .... 22 

Carolinum 7 

Cathedral of St. Vitus ... 25 
Children's Hospital .... 39 

Choteksanlagen 33 

Church of St. John Nepomuk 41 
Clam-Gallas' Palace .... 12 

Clemens-Church 15 

Clementinum 14 

Cloister of the Dominicans . 12 
Corps-Commando-building . . 20 
Custom-house . 38 

aliborka 32 

nglisches Fr&uleinstift . .19 

S^ranzensbridge 14 

Franzensmonument . . . .13 

Franzensquai 13 

Fraoz Joseph's Barracks . . 22 



Franz Joseph-Bridge 
Furstenberg-Palace 



-allichurch 8 

St. George's Church .... 30 

German Casino 37 

German Hall 24 

German Technical High school 12 
Grosser Ring (Velk^ ntoSsti) 8 
Grosser Stadtpark 38 



Pagt 

. 35 
.20 



:irschgraben 32 

History of Prague 1 

Hospital 39 

Hradchin 21 

Xgnaz-Church 39 

Industrial Museum 34 

Italian chapel 14 

JTakobs-Church 12 

St. Johann von Nepomuk's 

statue 17 

Joseph's Church 38 

Josephstadt 34 



ijetan-Church .... 21 
Karlsbrucke (Charlesbridge) 16 

Karlshof 40 

Karlstein 46 

Karmeliterlnnencloister . . 23 

Karolinenthal 43 

Kinsky's Palace 10 

Klar's Asylum for the Blind 33 
The Eleinseite (Little Town) 17 
Kreuzherrenchurch .... 15 
Kreuzkapelle 13 

X^andes-Museum 37 

Landestheater (German 

Theatre) 7 

Landtagssaal (Diet-hall) . . 25 

Lobkovitz's Palace 21 

Lobkovitz's Palace 31 

Lying-in-Hospital 40 



Page 

^altheBer-Church .... 18 
Maria-Schnee-Ghurch ... 38 

Martin's Chapel 42 

Mary-Annanciations-Church . 41 
MoDument of Charles IV. . 15 
Museum, st&dtisches .... 36 

JXTational Theatre 13 

Nenst&dter Rathhaas. ... 39 
New German Theatre ... 38 

Nicholas-Church 20 

Nostiz's Palace 18 

Nostiz's Palace 37 

Old Judenfriedhof .... 35 
Old Oberstbnr^grafenamt . . 31 
Old Senators Hall 25 

3E»alace of the governor . . 20 

Picture- Gallery 34 

Promenades 43 

Pulverturm (Powder-Tower) 7 

Xl.athaus (Town-Hall) ... 9 

Royal Castle 23 

Rudolphinum 33 

Russian orthodox Church . .10 



Pago 

lalvatorchurch U 

Schwarzer Turm 32 

Schwarzenberg's Palace . . 23 

SmichoY 44 

Sophienisland 14 

Spanish Hall 24 

Stftdtische Sparkassa .... 8 
Statue of St. George .... 24 
Stephanschurch .... • . 40 

Stern 45 

Strahov 21 

■Teinchurch 10 

Teinhof 11 

Theresianisches Damenstift . 31 
Topography and Statistics . 5 
Toskana's Palace 23 

XTniversity-Library . . . .15 

XTenzelsplace 37 

Vladislav's Hall 25 

Yyshebrad 41 

"VITaldsteinpalace 19 

Weinberge ,. . 44 

Weisser Turm 32 

White Hill 45 




■^tr 



The Sights and when they are to be seen.*) 

Alt'Neuschule. The famous synagogue in the Josephstadt. 
Except on high Jewish festivals to be seen daily from 10—12 
o'clock, and from 2 — 4. (Usually somebody stands at the door, in 
order to admit strangers or to fetch the servant of the synagogue. 

Anatomical Preparations etc. 1. in the general hospital, Neu- 
stadt, Erankenhausgasse (U nemocnice), Nr. 2. Near Earlsplatz, 
Saturday from 11—12 o'clock; 2. in the Francis Joseph- Kinder- 
spitale, Charles-square (Karlovo n&m^sti) 1 ; 3. in the physiological 
institution, Wenzelsbad, Wenzelsgasse (Ydclavskd ulice) 29. 

Archeological Collections (see Clementinum). 

Outlook-tower on the Laurenziherg. A lift to the tower. In 
summer from 7 in the morning till 8 o'clock in the evening. 

Belvedere see Ferdinands LustscMoss. 

Libraries, see Clementinum, Trades- museum, Trades-union, 
Museum, Rudolphinum, tech. High-School. 

Botanical Garden in Slup (Na Slupi). Admission in every 
time free. 

Carolinum, old university. Altstadt, Eisengasse (2elezn& 
ulice). Promotion-Hall, Bay-window-Chapel. Apply to the janitor. 

Casino German, Graben (Na PrikopS) 26, hall for lectures, 
balls, concerts. Good restaurant, beautiful garden. 

Clementinum. Altstadt, Mariienplatz (Mariansk6 n&mSsti) 5, 
then Ereuzherrnplatz (EH2ovuick6 n&mSsti). Archeological Insti- 
tution every Sunday from 11 — 1, and every Wednesday from 
12 — 1 o'clock; no admission fee paid. Apply to the janitor. 
Collection of coins and antiquities on application to the professor 
of the history of arts. University-library from 11 — 1 o'clock. 
Sunday and holidays excepted. Reading-hours from 9—1 o'clock. 
P. M. from 3—6. Observatory on application there. Refectory in 
the sem. Application at the gate there. 

German-historical Union. Altstadt, Liliengasse (Liliovd ulice) 
7. Library, antiquities, documents, coins and a rich collection of 
copper-prints. Application to the secretary there. 

FerdinoMddisches Lustschloss in the Chotek-grounds. Famous 
renaisance building. Frescoes. See Hofburg. 

FUrstenberg's Palace. Eleinseite, Waldsteingasse (YaldStyn- 
8k& ulice.) Splendid garden. Library. Cabinet of coins and gems. 
Application to the librarian. 

Picture-Gallery and copper-print- cabinet in the Rudolphinum. 
Wednesday, Friday and Sunday from 11 — 3 o'clock, no fee. Tues- 
day, Thursday and Saturday from 11— -3 o'clock. Admission 60 h. 



*) On application or for a small donation admission is to be 
had everywhere, even besides the fixed time. 

1* 



VI 

Picture'Exhibition, permanent, of the dealer in works of art 
of Nic. Lehmann, Ferdinandstrasse (Ferdinandova trida) 5. Daily 
from 9—5. Admission fee 40 h. 

Ficture-GoMery of Prince Eohan, Eleinseite, Earmelitergasse 
(Karmelitski ulice) 8. When asked. 

GeorgS'Ghv/rch. Hradschin. Sepulchre. Tombs. Application to 
the janitor in the house to the left. 

TradeS'MtLseuM and Library of Y. N&prstek, Betlehemsplatz 
(Betlemsk^ ndmSsti) at Hal&nek'a. Admission to the collections 
on application in the reading-room, daily from 10—12 o'clock, 

Trades-Union. Gallikloster, Rittergasse (Rytirskd ulice) 35. 
Models, machines, library. The last opened daily except on 
Thursday from 10—12 and from 4—8 o'clock; on Sundays and 
holidays from 9 — 2 o'clock. 

Jewish Cemetery, old. Josefstadt (Hampasgasse) (Na Hampase). 
Always open. Application in the office there. 

The royal Castle on the Hradchin. Old Diet-Chamber, Old 
Diet-Hall, Spanish Hall, German Hall, Vladislav's Hall, Castle- 
Garden and Ferdinand's Lustschloss, from 11—1 o'clock at noon, 
and from 4—5 P. M. Apply in the office of the Schlosshaupt- 
mannschaft, where admission-tickets may be got for 40 h. 

Kinsky^s Palace. Altstadt, Grosser Ring (Velk6 ndmSsti) 16. 
Library, copper-prints, wood-cuts. 

KinsJcy^s Garden, Smichov. Beautiful promenade, open to the 
public. 

ChureheSf open daily the whole forenoon and from 31/2— 4i/j 
o'clock in the afternoon. 

Kreuzherrn-libraryy important Bohemicas. Apply to the libra* 
rian in the cloister. 

KreuzJcappelle in the Karolina Sy^tld-Gasse (ulice Earoliny 
Sv6tl6), interesting building from the XIII*t century. 

Industrial Museum of the Board of Commerce and of Trade 
in Prague in Salnitergasse. Collections open daily, except on 
Monday, from 10—3 o'clock. Admission free. The library on week- 
days (except Monday) from 10 — 12 o'clock in the forenoon, and 
from 5—8 o'clock in the evening. On Sundays and on holidays 
from 10 — 12 o'clock in the forenoon. 

Kunstverein fiir Bohmen (Society of friends of Patriotic 
Art) in the Rudolphinum. The yearly exhibition from 15*i» April 
till 15*1^ May daily from 9—6 o'clock. Admission: On weekdays 
1 K, on Sundays and holidays 60 h. Family-tickets for 3 per- 
sons 2 K. Catalogue 60 h. lllustr. catalog K 1.40. 

Diet-House Landtagsgebdude and Landtagssaal in the FQnf- 
kirchenplatz (PStikostelni n&mSati). Daily, except on days of 
session. Apply to the door-keeper. 

LobkoviC'Pdlace, 'Eleinseite, W&lsche Gasse (VlaSskd ulice). 
Collection of paintings, plaster-casts, library and a beautiful garden. 

Loretto-Church and Lauretanisches Haus, in the Lorettoplatz 
(Loretansk^ n&mSsti) on the Hradchin. The richest church-trea- 



VII 

sores in Bohemia. Only from 1. May till 15. October on Monday, 
Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 9—11 o'clock. Apply in 
the adjoining Capnchine-cloister. (Detailed catalogue of the church- 
treasures may be had at the bookseller's or in the cloister.) 

Musemn Bohemian (National) on the upper end of the Wenzels- 
platz (V4claysk^ ndm^sti). Note-worthy collections open: on Sunday 
from 9 — 12 o'clock on Wednesday and Saturday from 2 — 6 o'clock 
no fee. Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 9 — 1 o'clock, admission 
60 h. On Wednesday and Saturday from 9 — 12 o'clock, and 
on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 3—5 o'clock. Admission 
1 E. Admission-tickets at the door-keeper. 

Museum J cechoslavicm, ethnographical ^ 9—1 o'clock Kin sky 
Garden. Open on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 9 — 1 o'clock 
admission 50 h; Wednesday and Saturday from 9—12, admission 
20 h; on Sundays and holidays from 9—12 o'clock, Wednes- 
day and Saturday from 2 — 5 o'clock, no fee. 

Museum Citt/y in the sm. town-park, Na Poridi. Open every 
Sunday from 9—1; no fee. On Wednesday from 2—6 o'clock, 
20 h for adults and 10 h for children till 10 years. 

Nationaltheaier. The royal apartments to be seen on appli- 
cation to the door-keeper (donation). Foyer and corridors in the 
evening before the beginning of the performance. 

Nostic-PaHace. Kleinseite, Maltheserplatz (Malt^zsk^ nd- 
m^Bti) 1. Collections of art, library. Application to the door- 
keeper. 

Oberstburggrafamt, old» Hradchin, Georgsgasse (U sv. Jin) 4. 
With the black tower, white tower and the Daliborka. Applica- 
tion to the door-keeper. 

Physiological Institution^ Neustadt, Wenzelsgasse (Ydclavskd 
ulice) 29, Thursday 10—10 o'clock Medical preparations etc. 
Specialists may apply to the director in the institution. 

Town -hall (Bathaus) Altst&dter, Gothic Chapel. Hall of 
sessions. Application to the door-keeper. The antiquities in the 
Altst&dter Rathaus and especially the hall of sessions may be 
seen during the hours of official business from 8 — 12 k clock in 
the forenoon and from 3—6 o'clock in the afternoon, provided 
there is no session in the halls just at that time. 

Budolphinum, on the Rudolfsquai (N&breii kor. prince Ru- 
dolfs)* Interesting building. Application in the Inspection-office 
(towards the Moldau). 

Strdhov, Hradchin. Church always open. Library, picture- 
gallery and collection of minerals from 8^2 — IIV2* Application 
to the door-keeper of the cloister. 

TechniccU Highschool, German, Husgasse (Husova ulice) 5, 
Bohemian in Earlsplatz (Earlovo n4mSsti) 14. Ask janitor. 

Tempel, Hebrew reformed worship. Altst. Geistgasse (DuSnf 
ulice). Application to the keeper in the adjoining house. 

Toscand's Palace in the Hradchiner Platz (Hrad6ansk6 n&- 
mdsti) on application. 



VIII 

Totmsten^PtwiHon on the Laurenziberg. Admission 40 h, 
military persons and children 20 h. 

University 'Library^ see Glementinnm. 

St. Vitus ' Cathedral, Hradchin. From 5— 12V2 and from 
2 — 5 o'clock. Application to the beadle. Treasury there on 
application to the canonicate, also Cathedral-library. 

Waldstein ' Palace, Waldsteinplatz (ValdStynske ndm^Bti). 
Kleinseite. Application to the door-keeper. 

Arsenal (Zeughaus) Imp. R. Kleinseite, Zeughausgasse (U zbroj- 
nice) 26. Collection of weapons. Application to the commander 
there. 

Hints. 

The magistrate of Prague published a Directory in the Bohe- 
mian language in the y. 1900, a third, carefulJy revised edition, in 
which addresses may be easily found. It is exposed in caf^s, 
restaurants and all public places. In looking for the streets the 
adjoined plan of Prague with a list of streets and squares, will 
be of good service. The rectangles show, where the respective 
streets are to be looked for. The houses have double numerals, 
but the new ones are apparent by being painted on red or blue 
tablets with white inscriptions, running in one succession, the 
even on one side, the odd on the other. On every street«corner 
is the name of the street (lately in the Bohemian language only) 
on an iron table with a red background and a white text. 

On the bridges always keep to the right. Except on the old 
stone Charles-bridge 2 h are paid for a single person, 10 h for 
one horse-chaise, 20 h for a two horses-chaise. Passing the town- 
circumference, toll is also paid, 10 h for a one horse - chaise, 
20 h for a two horse-chaise. 

Elegant lavatories for ladies and gentlemen are established 
in Havlidekplatz, in the large park (near the pond), in the Josefs- 
platz (Josetske nimfisti), in PoriC, in the Karlsplatz (Karlovo n&- 
mdsti), two on the Wenzelsplatz (VAclavske n4m6sti), in the Kohl- 
markt (Uhelny trh), in the Franzensquai (FrantiSkovo n4bre4i), in 
the Budolfsquai (Rudolfovo n&bre^i), in the Kleinseite and in the 
Kronprinz Hudolfsanlagen. In the same clothes are cleaned. 
The price for using the I. cl. cabin are 8 h, for the II. cl. 
cabin 4 h. 



A Short Outline of the History of Prague. 

The foundation of Prague (Boh. Praha), the capital of the king- 
dom of Bohemia, falls into prehistoric times. The tradition 
fiays about it the following: The Princess Libusha (LibuSa), whose 
residence was the oldest seat of the Bohemian princes, the Vy- 
shehrad (Boh. VySehrad, i. e. High Castle), built another castle 
on the present Hradchin (Boh. Hradeauy), on the left bank of 
the Moldau (Boh. Vltaya), at the foot of which soon sprung up a 
small borough, the „older" or „smaller" town, the present Klein- 
seite (Boh. MenSi Mfisto), in opposition to the „new" or „larger 
town", (at present Altstadt, Boh. Star6 M§sto), which has sprung 
up on the right bank of the Moldau soon after. These two bo- 
roughs received afterwards the common appellation „Prague". Under 
the Przemyslids, the successors of Libusha and her spouse Prze- 
mysl, the town continually increased, and after the introduction 
of Christianity into Bohemia under the eighth dake of this dynasty, 
Borzivoj I., who himself received the baptism (873), the first chur- 
ches were erected on the Hradchin and Vyshehrad. 

In the year 973 Boleslav II. (967—9^9) founded a bishopric 
in I^rague, and endowed a cloister for nuns in connexion with 
the St. George's Church, erected by Vratislav I (912—926). In 
the year 1039 on the 2S^ of August the corpse of St. Adalbert 
has been transferred into the present cathedral of St. Guy, erected 
by Wenzel (V4clav) the Holy (928—935). The same has been put 
down by Spitihnev II. who afterwards built a more spacious edi- 
fice, which suffered very much from tire during a siege of Prague 
by Konrad of Znaim, which destroyed entirely the adjoining St. 
George's cloister. ' 

In the 12*ii century Judith, the spouse of Vladislav II. 
(1140 — 1173), built the first stone bridge across the Moldau, but 
which fell in during the ice-drift in the year 1342. Under the 
king Wenzel I. (1230—1253), who was also famous as a poet, es- 
pecially under the reign of his son Ottokar II. (1253-1278), who 
did all, to further the growth of a strong citizenship, Prague had 
an epoch of prosperity and splendour. 

Commerce and art flourished, magnificent churches were 
erected, cloisters on a large scale were founded, and Prague had 
then with in its walls a real and in every way a royal court; 
the richest spiritual and wordly orders of knights took here their 
residence, and a general wellfare prevailed among the citizens, who 
had a considerable accession from the German element, enjoying 
special favour of the ruler. The Germans, settled in Prague, ac- 
quired under Sobfislav II. (1173 — 1178) town-rights and privileges 
for their quarter on the grounds of the present Porzitsh (Boh.Na 
poriCi), and German culture and Germans were favoured and 
protected. 



After the extinctioxL of the Przemyslids (with Wenzel III. 
1306), the German Luxenburgs succeeded to the Bohemian 
throne; Charles the IV**^ (1346—1878) raised the capital of Bohemia 
to such a height that it rivalled the greatest towns of Europe in 
that time as to size, splendour and significance. He inyited to 
his court the most famous artists and scholars, and adorned Prague 
with edifices and institutions, which call forth admiration even in our 
days, and justly gained him the surname ^Father of the country*'. 
When still a crown-prince, he began the building up of a new 
residence on the Hradchin and raised the bishopric of Prague 
to an archbishoprir. He laid the foundation of the beautiful ca- 
thedral of St. Guy and of the New-Town of Prague (1348), 
which could show in the shortest time seven churches and cloisters. 
In the year 1348 he founded the first university in Middle-Europe, 
and in the year 1357 he began the construction of the stone- 
bridge, called after him „ Charles's Bridge**. His reign is also the 
beginning of the fiist considerable art-epoch in Bohemia; in the 
year 1348 the painters of Prague, the oldest guild in the German 
Empire, were ordered to draw up their statutes. la architecture 
great triumphs were achieved by the works of Mathias of Arras, 
the originator of the cathedral of St. Guy and of the first 
architect of the magnificent Earlshof ; by Peter Parler of Gmfind, 
who overspanned the river Moldau with the Charles's Bridge. In 
the same degree commerce and trades flourished under the gui- 
dance and example of masters, who following the invitation of the 
liberal monarch, flocked from Germany, Italy, even from the East 
to Prague as teachers of the natives. Under his son Wenzel IV» 
(1378—1419) began the world-wide known religious and national re- 
formation, which proved so eventful for Prague and Bohemia. By 
the zral and instigation of John Hus, preacher in Bethlehem 
Chapel and teacher to the university of Prague, king Wenzel IV. 
decided on the 19*1^ Januar 1409, that henceforth in all matters 
touching the university, the Bohemian nation should have three 
votes, and the remaining nations together but one. 

This induced many thousands of students (mostly German), 
as well as professors to leave Prague (1409), and the teaching of 
II us, based on the writings of Wycliffe and tending to an entire 
separation from the common church, fell on fertile ground in the 
university and in the opulent city. When it became known in 
Bohemia, that he was burned in Constance (1415) as a heretic, 
terrible tumults broke out in Prague, which inaugurated the 
bloody Hussite war. The prelude to it took place in Prague by 
hurling the New- town counsellors out of the window (30*^ July 
1419), who fell on the spears of the Hussites, passing the town- 
hall in a procession from St. Steven's church. The Hussite war, 
which now began with the greatest violence, lasted from 1419—1436, 
destroyed the welfare of Bohemia, and the whole land was cover- 
ed with smoking ruins of destroyed cities, castles, churches and 
cloisters; the architectonic and art-monumeots in Prague suffered 
most, for Prague played a prominent political part in these reli- 
gious wars, and became by turn a prey of the contending parties. The 



attempt of Sigismund (Wenzels brother, 1419 — 1437) to take pos- 
sesBion of Prague, and to restore peace recoiled from the stabborn 
opposition of the Hussites, who repeatedly yanquished and put 
to flight Sigismund's imperial army, and the most notable victory 
has been gained on the mount Vitkov, which is also called Ziiikov 
(£i2kaberg) after the leader of the Hussites. George of Poddbrad 
(1458—1471) put an end to this war and the civil strife, having 
captured Prague (on the S^ Dec. 1448) by a bold attack. Ten 
years later (1458) he was crowned as king of Bohemia and resided 
in the Old-town in the EOniginhof. Prague owes him the erec* 
tion of the bridge-towers in the Little-town and the completion 
of the front and the towers of the Teynkirche (Tynsky kostel). 
Vladislav II. (1471—1516) also promoted architecture zealously, as 
the Pulverthurm (Pra§n4 br&na) shows, built by the stone-hewer 
Wenzel and then by Math. Reysek (1475), and the Homage- or 
Vladislav's Hall in the Hradchin - Castle. Under his reiga the 
power and selfimportance of the citizens reached an uncommon 
height; the Old- town and New-town united again in 1518 under a 
common council and fought repeatedly against the nobility, yea 
their stubborn pride turned even against the king, who anxious for 
his life (1490) took his residence in Ofen. Ferdinand I, who 
according to an agreement of inheritance ascended the Bohemian 
throne in 1526, suppressed the revolts with a strong hand and 
the Old-town and the New-town were again separated, and each 
got its own magistrates. 

A new uprising of the inhabitants of Prague against Ferdi- 
nand (1546—1547) ended with a complete humiliation of the towns. 
A fire, which broke out on the 2^^Ju\jlMl, destroyed the Little- 
town, the Hradchin together with the royal castle, the cathedral, 
the Register of landed property etc. 

Under Rudolph II (1576—1612) Prague enjoyed a new golden 
era. Artists and scholars, among that number Tycho de Brahe, 
Kepler, John of Aachen and others were gathered in the castle 
of Prague, in which Rudolph resided for the greater part of his 
reign, which lasted 36 years, and which he filled with remarkable 
treasures of arts. Every- where new edifices rose, numerous insti- 
tutions were dedicated to the promotion of intellectual culture, 
commerce and trade florished again and welfare spread again in 
towns and in the whole country. But peace did not last long. 
The majority of the protestant estates compelled emperor Rudolph 
to sign a Declaration of his Majesty, which roused jealosy and 
discontent among the parties, and soon after Prague became again 
the scene of bloody events. l?he 28^ May 1618 became a landmark 
in the history of Prague, of Bohemia and of central Europe. On 
this day the imperial ministers Martinic and Slavata, together with 
the clerk Fabricius were thrown out of the window of the council-hall 
by the same members of the Bohemian estates, whose anger was 
roused in consequence of a protestant church having been closed. 
This was the commencement of the Thirty-years war, during which 
Prague has been captured thrice ; for the first time after the battle 
on the White Mount (S^^ November 1620), in which Friderik V. 



/■ 



of the Palatinate, elected king by the Bohemians, was vanquished, 
and Maximilian of Bavaria took the capital in behalf of the em- 
peror, who subjected the adherents of Frederik Y., called „Winter- 
king**, to a bloody trial and ordered twenty seven of them to be 
beheaded in front of the town-hall in the Old-town square* By 
this protestantism in Bohemia seemed entirely crushed, as the 
majority jDf its adherants left the country. 

Numerous foreign monks took now possession of the chur- 
ches and cloisters; the Jesuits erected in the Little-town and in 
the New-town new edifices for their order (1625—1633). For the 
second time Prague was taken by the Saxons under Amim in 
November of the year 1631, who ransacked it of its treasures of art 
and carried them as war-booty mostly to Dresden. In the year 
1682 they were driven out by Albrecht of Waldstein. The Swedes 
invaded Prague for the third time under Eonigsmark on the 
26*1^ July 1648 availing themselves of the treachery of Ottowalsky 
von Streitberg, and besieged 8 months the Old- and New-town, 
which were bravely and successfully defended by citizens and stu- 
dents. The Wesphalian peace put an end to the Thirty-years 
war, which commenced in Prague by the defenestration; Ednig- 
mark's attempt to seize Prague was his last feat of arms. 

Prague enjoyed now peace nearly for hundred years (till 1740), 
during which time the wounds, inflicted by war, were healed and 
the city throve materially. Architecture and sculpture began to 
flourish. In all public places we meet with specimens of the ba- 
roque style (Strahov - church, cupola of the church of the Order 
of the Gross, Mary- statue on the Altst&dter square etc.) 

In the years 1679 and 1680 a plague raged in Prague, which 
carried off about 32.000 people. In the year 1689 a great fire de- 
stroyed the Jewish town and a large part of the Altstadt and 
Neustadt. 

The Austrian Succession war brought fresh misfortunes. In 
the year 1741, on the 26*^ November, an army consisting of Bava- 
rians, Saxons and the French, occupied the city and Earl Albert 
was crowned king of Bohemia as Earl YIL, but soon after he 
retired. The French remained, though an army of Maria Theresia 
has shut up the city and bombarded it fiercely from the 15^^ Au- 
gust till 13*1^ September. Till on the 2^^^ January 1743 she gave 
up the siege having been compelled to it by hunger, prevailing in. 
the whole of Bohemia. In the year 1744 Prague was besieged 
again by the Prussians, who took possession of it on the 17'^ Sep- 
tember under general Einsiedel, and held it till 2Q*^ November. 
Much more terrible and disastrous was the siege, which Friderick 
the Great lay to the city in the year 1757. For 19 days (from the 
30^1^ May till the 18^^ June) the capital was bombarded by the 
Prussians, whose missiles destroyed the most memorable monu- 
ments of art. The Cathedral, the Royal Castle, and most of 
the churches were destroyed by 80.000 balls either entirely, or 
seriously damaged and 880 houses lay in ruins. By the glorious 
victory of the imperial army under Daun near Eolin (18th June) 
the distressed city was liberated at last, and the traces of the 



5 

havock of these three dreadful weeks have not been entirely e£faced 
till to this day. 

Josef II. (1780—1790) abolished many of the 117 chnrches 
and cloisters in Prague, which wore either entirely demolished 
or adapted for other purposes, as offices, hospitals, barracks, sto- 
res etc. Thereby the outward appearance of Prague, the dty of 
hundred towers, has been materially changed, and its four magi- 
stracies have been united into one in 1784. 

In the same year Prague suffered from a dreadful flood. 

Under the Austrian emperors Francis I. and Ferdinand I. 
a great number of scientific and beneficial institutions were foun- 
ded (Conservatory, Museum, Trades-union, Academy of Painting). 
In the same time many places of public resorts, gardens and 
parks, as well as the Francis-quay have sprung up. Since the 
Seven- years war Prague was no more troubled with war events 
except the riots in the year 1848 (Pentecost- revolution). Till on 
the 8*1^ July 1866 Prague was occupied by the Prussians, after 
the defeat of the Austrians in the battle of KOniggrfttz, the ca- 
pital having been deserted by Austrian troops and authorities. 
On the 23^ Angust 1866 at llVa o'clock at night in the Hotel 
„Blue Star^ (chamber No. 6) the „Peace of Prague" was signed, 
and on the 18^i> September the last Prussian troops left the city. 

In the latter years the ramparts of the New-town were re- 
moved and beautiful public gardens were planted in their stead. 
The consequence of it was, that the town could be enlarged, 
and the town-authorities are doing their best to raise and to adorn 
the town. New quays, bridges, monuments and magnificent edifices 
have been erected, former monuments properly repaired, and 
Prague produces the impression partly of a modern flourishing city, 
and partly of an entirely mediaeval town, especially as regards 
the Altstadt and Eieinseite. 



Topography and Statistics. 

Prague is almost the geographical centre of Bohemia and 
lies 50® 5' 19" of northern latitude and 32o 6' 8" of east longi- 
tude (Ferro). The city, picturequely situated between two hills 
on both sides of the Moldau, consists of seven parts or wards, 
designated by Roman ciphers: Altstadt (I. 42.332 inh.), Neustadt 
(II. 75.734 inh.), Josephstadt (V. 11.535 inh.) and Vyshehrad (VI. 
4.546 inh.) on the right bank; Eieinseite (III. 20.447 inh.) Hrad- 
chin (IV. 5.805 inh. and Holeshovic-Bubna (VII. 15.352 inh.) on 
the left bank of the Moldau, which compose the inner town with 
175.751 inh.). Besides there are the suburbs: Earlin (Karolinen- 
thal) 19.554 inh., Smichov 32.693 inh., Er41ovsk6 Vinohrady (Egl. 
Weinberge) 34.536 inh. and Zi^kov 41.236 inh., together 128.109 inh., 
so that the number of all the inhabitants reaches far beyond a 
quarter of a million. The proportion of the Slavonic 6echs to 
the Germans is 6*3:1. The Boman catholic religion prevails; 



6 

there are also more than 8000 protestants and 17.000 Jews. The 
town is divided into 22 parochial districts and has 58 catholic, 
4 protestant, 1 Russian church and 10 synagogues; 60 steeples 
and 22 city- towers rise towards the sky. Eight bridges cross the 
Moldau, four stone bridges (Charles's, Palackys', Francis' and a 
railway bridge) three constructed of iron (Francis- Joseph's, a rail- 
way connecting bridge, a chain bridge and a wooden bridge. The 
town is governed by a Town Board, consisting of 90 numbers of 
which 24 constitute the Town Council, and a Magistrate. At the 
head of both stands the Mayor and two Vice-mayors. Prague is 
the seat of a Diet and of the highest authorities (k. k. Statthal- 
terei, k. u. k. General-Commando, k. k. Finanzlandea-Direction, 
High Court of Law, Chief Police-office, Chief Post-office), of an 
Archbishop with a consistory and of numerous educational insti- 
tutions; 1 German and 1 Bohemian Universities; 1 German and 
1 Bohemian Polytechnical Institutions, many German and Bohe- 
mian gymnasiums, Realgymnasiums and Real-schools, 1 German 
Lyceum for girls, 1 Bohemian Young Ladies' School etc. Great is 
the number of special schools of which we mention. Academy of 
Art, Industrial School, the German and Bohemian Commercial 
academies. Musical Conservatory and the Organ school. Societies 
flourish and promote successfully the artistic, scientific, philan- 
throptic and social aims of the inhabitants. 




A Stroll round the City. 

We begin oar wandering with the Altstadt^ which is of 
special historical interest for the natives and strangers, 
on account of the many ancient buildings. It has a conside- 
rable traffic and is the seat of many scientific institutions. 
At the east-entrance between the Hyberner- and Zeltner- 
gasse (Hybernskd and Celetnd ulice) rises 

the Pulverturm (Powder-Tower). It was one of the 
eight gate-towers, which defended the entrance into the Alt- 
stadt at a time, when the latter had its own fortifications 
and was separated from the Neustadt by a broad ditch. 
This tower, made in the late gothic style, was erected by 
the Altstadt citizens in honour of Vladislav II, under whose 
government this kind of architecture flourished greatly in 
Bohemia. It was commenced in the year 1475 by the mason 
Wenzel, and finished in the 16*^ century by the rector of 
the Teyn-school, Mathias Reysek. Its name may be traced 
to the 18*^ century, when it served as a powderstore. 

At the corner between the Zeltnergasse (Celetn& ulice) 
and the Obstmarkt (Ovocn;^ trh) stands the building of the 
Civil Courts of Law. The spouse of king Georg PodSbrad 
resided there. On the upper end of the Obstmarkt rises the 

Landestheater (German Theatre). It has been erected 
by count Nostic-Rienek in 1781, and in 1798 bought by 
the Bohemian Estates. Since 1861 it is property of the 
country. Opposite at the corner of the Eisengasse (Zeleznd 
ulice) stands the old university: 

The CaroUnum. Originally on this spot stood a house 
erected in 1363 by the imp. Master of Mint Job. Rothlew ; 
King Wenzel bought it in 1383 and designed it for a High- 
school, founded by Charles IV*^. The present appearance of 
the university building, named after its founder, dates from 1781. 
The inscription on the chief front »LEX OIYIUM DUX** 



8 

dates from 1687. In the first floor there is the spacious 
Promotionssaal, in which Magister Johannes Hus roused re- 
ligious and national zeal hy his disputes; it contains many 
portraits of Bohemian kings, Chancellors and Rectors of the 
university, and was materially transformed by Joseph 11. 
There is also in the same floor a small „ Promotionssaal" 
(where degrees are conferred) and the small Chapel of St. 
Cosmas and Damian in the gothic bay-window, dating from 
the XIV*^ century and repaired now. In the corridor there 
is a red marble memorial -plate with a portrait of the Bo- 
hemian scholar Matthaeus CoUinus of Chotefina, and several 
Latin and Greek inscriptions having reference to him, placed 
there by Jacob Palaeologos of Chios, a descendant ot the By- 
zantine emperors, in gratitude for a hospitable reception in 
1566. The archives contain several very interesting docu- 
ments from the time of Charles IV*^ and Wenzel IV*^. 

Opposite rises the Galligebaude formerly cloister of the 
Carmelites, contains at present the localities of the Trades- 
Union with a public library with more than 13.000 volumes. 
The behind adjoining 8t Qallichurch dates from the XIII*^ cent, 
and was in the XY. and XYI. cent, one of the most import- 
ant utraquistic churches. There is the tomb of the Bohe- 
mian painter Karl Skreta (f 1674), a chief altar-piece by 
Rainer and in the Mary Chapel a Crucifix almost in full 
life size by J. F. Prokov (f 1713) carved in wood. 

On the grounds of the former old theatre in the Kotzen 
(v Kotcich) farther away from the St. Gallikirche the 

StMtische Sparkassa {Savings - Bank of the City of 
Prague) a magnificent edifice in the renaisance style has been 
erected, ornamented with the armoury of the former town- 
quarters and laid in with square sand-stones. 

Through the Melantrichgasse (Melantrichova ulice) we. 
come to the 

Orossen Bing (Yelk6 n&mSstl). The same is an irregular 
square and is one of the most memorable places of the 
town, in which formerly tournaments, homages to royalty 
and other public festivals and judicial assemblies took place. 
In the middle of the square rises the Mary- column a mo- 
nolith with a statue of St. Mary, by the sculptor Pendel, 
erected by Ferdinand III** in 1650 in memory of the libe- 
ration of the Altstadt from the Swedes. 






The Town Hall. 



Many of the buildings are of the highest interest, 
especially the 

Bathaus (Town-hall) on the W. side whose present 
appearance is the result of many changes and additions. The 
east front has been renewed in 1838 — 1848 in the gothic 
style, is richly adorned with mason-work by Kranner and 
Jedli^ka, and with statues of six rulers: SpitihnSv II., 
Karl IV., Ferdinand III., Francis I. and Ferdinand the I. 
who deserved well of Bohemia, by J. Max. The corner- 
tower with the curious clock, dating partly from the 14. cen- 
tury, and the south front ornamented with many gay armou- 
ries, with the fine gothic portal, being the entrance to the 
Council-Chamber, erected in 1880, bear their original cha- 
racter. The dainty gothic bay-window of the Chapel St. 
Lawrence is the oldest part, and dates from 1381; in the 
year 1857 it has been repaired. 

The town archives, contained in the town-hall, are of 
high value for the history of Prague. The astronomic clock, 
a remarkable work of art by master Hanus from the y. 1490 
was for a long time out of repair, and only on the Sylvester- 
night 1865/6 it was again set agoing* It shows and stri- 
kes the hours according to the present and the mediaeval 
division of time (24 hours), shows further the sun-rise and 
sun-set the lunar quarters, the zodiac, the festivals of the year 
etc. At the stroke of every hour 2 windows open above 
the clock and the 1 2 Apostles with Christ pass with an au- 
tomatic movement. On the one side there is the movable 
figure of Death, which rings, and the figure of a man with 
a money-bag, which shakes its head, and above the clock 
there is a cock, crowing amusingly after every stroke of the 
clock. The calendary-disk, painted by LiSka, is the copy 
of a valuable original painting by J. Manes, kept in the 
town-museum. 

The sights in the town-hall are : The old Council-Cham- 
ber, in which the imperial fieldmarshal Rosswurm was be- 
headed in 1605; the old Council-hall, erected by Vladislav II 
in gothic style, with ceiling-beams richly adorned with car- 
vings ; an old stove, several statues and escutcheons of civil 
guilds; the Primator-hall with portraits of all the mayors 
since the XVI*^ century, and the new Assembly-hall with 
a colossal painting by Broilk: „Hus before the Council" 



10 

and ^Election of Georg of PodSbrad king of Bohemia". Be- 
hind the Town-hall rises the St Niclaschurch, which belon- 
ged formerly to the Slavonic Benedictine cloister, and in the 
year 1870 was hired by the Bussian'Orthodox-Church com- 
munity and adjusted for that worship. The frescoes in the 
apsis and cupola are by P* Maixner, the pictures on the 
ikonostas painted on golden background, and in the wing- 
chapels are by Mukaf evski ; the stucco-work on the ikonostas 
by Effenberger. 

The Prmce Kinsky's Palace on the east side of the 
square, a large edifice in rococo style, has been begun 
in the middle of the previous century by K. I. Dienzen- 
hofer and completed according to his plans by Anselm 
Luragho. The library in the back-building contains about 
47.000 volumes, and among that number rare editions of the 
Bible and about 200 incunables, many Bohemicas, further 
500 volumes copper-prints, 20 maps with pictures (600 by 
Albrecht Diirer), charters, plans etc. Close to the Kinsky's 
palace rises 

the Teinkirche (Teinchutch) with its two towers above 
a building with arcades, the famous Tein-school in the 
Middle ages. It was already in the XIV, century one 
of the four chief parochial churches of the Altstadt. Kich 
German merchants laid the foundation of this gothic church, 
but the completion of it was interrupted by the Hussite 
wars, in the course of which it became the chief church 
of the utraquists and continued to be till 1621. Georg 
of Podfibrad completed the building (from 1458 — 1463) 
and at the advice of J. Rokycana, a stone statue of 
Georg was placed in a niche of the facade with a large 
chalice above it. After the battle of the White Hill it 
was superseded by the present Mary-statue. On the 
10*^ June 1679 a lightening struck into the roof, set 
it on fire, and the gothic vault of the nave fell in. 
According to the then prevailing taste it was erected anew 
in round arches and with jonic pillars. The one of the 
two towers, which are 79*97 m high and each adorned 
with side-turrets, the left has been again damaged by ligh- 
tening on the 29 July 1819, and renewed again in 1834/5, 
From the Teinlane you enter the church through a beautiful 
portal, ornamented with rich gothic architecture and the 



11 

history of the suffering of our Lord in high relief, which is 
also remarkable, that instead of the customary pointed arches, 
after the manner of Peter Parler, round arches have been 
^^laced into the inner of the three-nayed church, the middle 
nave of which surpasses the two side naves almost by the 
I Vialf and has a length of 57 m. The church contains a great 
number of remarkable objects. The chief altar, executed in 
the renaisance-style of the XVIP^ century, adorns an Ascen- 
sion of Christ by Skreta, who painted also the other pictu- 
res. On the chief altar of the left nave there is a large 
wooden Crucifix from the XV*^ century, and close by to the 
left an old wood-carving from the XV*^ century and a Pietk 
with 6 side-figures. In the right side-nave in the Mary- 
chapel there is a gothic altar with paintings by Lhota and 
statues by Vesely ; close by to the left, the double statue in 
above life-size of the Slavian apostles Cyril and Methodius 
of Carraro marble by £m. Max, and near by an ancient 
font, in pewter, dating from 1414. On the first pillar to 
the right is the red-marble tombstone of the celebrated Da- 
nish astronomer Tycho de Brahe, who died in Prague on 
the 24*^ October 1601 ; on the second pillar to the right 
is the ancient pulpit, dating from the XV*^ century, which 
was repaired in 1846, and on the opposite pillar to the 
left, above the altar of St. Luke, is a large gothic canopy 
of stone, hewn by Mathias Reysek, a remainder of the 
mausoleum of the utraquistic bishop Augustinus Lucianus, 
whose bones have been dug out after the battle of the 
White Hill and burnt together with others. The vestry 
is older than the church, just as the so called Ludmilla 
Chapel behind the vestry (now partly demolished), which 
presents itself as the southern tower of the ante Caroline, 
and in the beginning of the XIV*^ century completed Tein- 
church. Behind the Teinchurch is 

The Teinhof (Tj^nsk;^ dvur) or the Alte Ungeld. This 
building was in the earliest time probably a hospital and 
a shelter for strangers, mostly German merchants, who were 
obliged to lodge here, in order that their paying the taxes 
might be controlled. The name is derived from t^niti (um- 
zliunen — to fence in); the designation „Altes Ungeld" is 
also based on the levelling of the said indirect tax on salt 
and wine, which was paid here. 



12 

The St, Jakcibs-Church behind the Teinhof was erected 
together with the adjoining Minoritenkloster in the 14**" cen- 
tury. It is the longest church in Prage (78 w), has three 
naves and the interior is strikingly gloomy. Remarkable 
are: The chief altar painting by Wenzel Rainer from the 
year 1739; several pictures by Brandel, and especially the 
artful marble memorial of the Bohem. Chancellor Count L. 
V. Vratislav of Mitrovic (f 1712), erected by the sculptor 
Ferd. Prokov, on the left side of the entrance in a side-hall. 

Ou our return we pass the grossen and kleinen Ring, 
in the centre of which there is a remarkable old well with 
a beautiful iron railing from the year 1560, and find our- 
selves in the Husgasse (Husova tfida) before 

the Count Clam-Qallas' Palace^ one of the most pro- 
minent edifices in the baroque style, erected by Fischer von 
Erlach in 1707 — 1712. The numerous statues in the facade 
are by Math. Braun, the ceiling-frescoes by an Italian 
artist. The portal is adorned with beautiful karyatides. 

The St, AegidiuS'Church and Cloister of the Dominicans, 
further on in the Husgasse (Husova ti'fda) to the left, for 
the greater part in gothic style, was founded in 1301 by 
the bishop Johannes of Dra2ic and consecrated by arch- 
bishop Ernst of Pardubic in 1371; the escutcheons of both 
are placed on the chief portal. In the right naves rests 
Wenzel Rainer, who painted the frescoes of the cupola and 
of the ceiling. Opposite this church is 

the German Technical Highschool in the former St. Wen- 
leVs seminary of the Jesuits, abolished in the year 1773. 
From the upper end of the Husgasse branches oflF 

the Betlehemplat^ (Betlemsk6 ndmSstf), deriving its name 
from the Bethlehem-Chapel, founded here by the knight 
Joh. MQhlheim in 1391, and in which Magister Job. Hus 
was appointed preacher from 1400 — 1414. In the y. 1786 
it has been entirely demolished. Above the door-way of 
the house No 7 to the right, in which Hus formerly dwelled, 
there is the inscription: „Zde bydlel Mistr Jan Hus. „Here 
lived Magister John Hus"). To the west of this square 
in the house No 1 (u Haldnkfi) Anna Fingerhut (Ndprstek) 
founded in the year 1873 

the Bohemian Industrial Museum, It contains Bohe- 
mian textile and valuable articles of manufacture, productions 



13 

of Chinese and Japanese industry etc, and a library con- 
taining 30.000 volumes, collected by V. Ndprstek, and open 
to everybody. 

In the Convictgasse (Konviktskd ulice) leading on into 
the Postgasse (Postovskd ulice) now ul. Karoliny SvStl^ there 
stands at the corner 

the Kreuisilcapelle, a rotunde in Koman style from the 
Kill. cent. First it was a parish -church, but it was abo- 
Mshed in 1784 and sold to private persons. The Art-So- 
ciety „Um§lecka Beseda** has put it into perfect repair 
in 1863 — 65. Opposite stands the fine Bohemian Sfaafs- 
gewerheschule (Prumyslovd Skola), erected in 1890. 

From the Postgasse (Po§tovskd ulice) we get to 

the Framensquai (FrantiSkovo ndbfe^i), presenting a be- 
autiful view of the Moldau, the islands, the bridges and of 
left bank of the MoJdau: it* stretches from the Sofieninsel till 
to the Mills of Altstadt. There we see the Kleinseite 
(Maid Strana) and beyond the pronged, so called Hunger- 
wall enclosing the Laurentiusberg (Nebozizek) and the Lau- 
ren tins- church together with the outlook-tower. Farther 
on to the right there is Strahov with its church, and the 
Hradschin with Ferdinand's pleasure-seat above the ancient 
stone Karlsbrttcke (Karluv most). Almost in the centre 
of the quay rises on lovely grounds 

the Fran/senS'Monument. The monument, executed by 
the architect Eranner (16*6 m high) has an octagonal basis 
out of which rises an obelisk-like structure, the interior of 
which occupies an equestrian statue of the Emperor 
Francis }., cast in iron from a model by J. Max. On these 
pillars are eight allegoric figures : Science, Art, Peace, 
Abundance, Agriculture, Mining, Industry and Commerce. 
Out of the basis of the monument rise 17 statues, representing 
the city of^Prague and the former 16 districts of Bohemia. 
All these figures have been made by J. Max. On the 
southern end of the Francis Quay 

the National Theatre was erected after the plans of 
Prof. J. Zltek in the years 1868—1883, and the expen- 
ses were defrayed by public contributions of the whole 
country. 

Opposite the National Theatre stands the Count La- 

2» 



14 

^ansky's palace, and adjoining to it the magnificent stru- 
cture of 

the JBohmische Sparkassa (Bohemian Savings -bank). 
In the front of the National Theatre is the Sophien-Island 
(Zoflnsk^ ostrov), connected with the Francis-quay by an iron 
bridge. It contains beautiful grounds, shady avenues, a 
good restaurant and is a favorite resort of the society of 
Prague. In the summermonths regular concerts take place 
there in the afternoons. 

The Ferdinaadstrasse is connected with the Eleinseite 
and Smichov by the new stone Franzensbridge (FrantiSkfiv 
most), which has been constructed instead of the old suspension 
bridge. A staircase led from the same to the SchUtzen- 
island (Stifeleck;^ ostrov), a shooting-place of the Rifle-men 
corpse of the citizens of Pragac. It contains a beautiful 
park, a good restaurant and is the staple-place of the Ro- 
wing-Club of Prague. On the northern end of the Franzens- 
quai are the Altstadt-Mills and the water -house, which 
were set on fire in the uprising of Prague in 1848 by the 
imperial troops, posted on the bastion. Through the two 
arch-ways at the upper end of the Postgasse we reach the 
Kreuzherm-Platz (Kfi2ovnick6 ndmSstf), and to the east of it is 

the Clementinum^ an extensive building, commenced by 
the Jesuits in 1653 and finished in the XVIII"" cent. II 
comprises 4 courts, has 2 churches, 4 large and 2 smalt 
towers and occupies an area of 1*904 hekt., on which for- 
merly stood 3 churches, 1 cloister, 32 houses, 2 gardens 
etc. Emperor Ferdinand I. called the Jesuits to Prague, 
and these used the Clementinum as college and monastic 
house. After the abolition of this order the building became 
property of the University. Very remarkable are: 

The St Salvatorchurchj erected by the Jesuits in the 
y. 1578 — 1602 in renaissance style. Under a balcony, 
resting o 3 arches to the west, 3 marble portals lead into 
the church. The statues on the front were made by the 
sculptor to the court, Pendel ; the chiefaltar- painting (a copy 
of Raphael) Transfiguration of Christ, was painted by Hering. 

The Mary Ascension (Walsche Kapelle) chapel or Italian- 
chapel in the grosse Karlsgasse is a rotund built by the 
Jesuits from contributions of the Italian Congregation in 
Prague in 1690, and contains a beautiful altar-painting by 



r 






. 



15 

J. Bergler (copy of Tizian), and in the vestry is a picture 
by Skreta. 

The adjoining St. Clemens-Church, after which the whole 
block of buildings is named, has been erected by the Jesuits 
in 1711 — 1715 and is distinguished for the excellent 
acoustics of its vault. The frescoes are by Rainer, a St. Leo- 
nard is painted by Brandel. 

The Archiepiscopal Seminary with a beautiful refectorium. 
In the first court there is a statue of a student by E. Max, 
erected in 1864 in memory of the brilliant defence of the 
Altstadt by the students againts the Swedes (1648). 

The Archeological and numismatic collection. 

The Imp. roy. observatory, a tower with an atlas-bear- 
ing statue. The rich collection of astronomical and mathe- 
matical instruments contains sextants of Tycho de Brahe 
and of emperor Rudolph II.; further the so called Traut- 
mansdorf s clock from the XIV. or XV. cent. etc. 

The Imp. roy. University Library and reading room 
with 184.000 volumes, among them 1528 incunables, and 
above 3800 manuscripts. The foundation of this collection 
was laid by the old university library of the Emperor 
Charles IV. (bibliotheca coUegii Carolini), which has been 
transferred into the college of the Jesuits in 1622, and be- 
came university property after the abolition of that order. 

Opposite the Clementinum to the north of the Ereuz- 
herrnplatz rises 

the Kreueherrn-Church of St. Francis Seraph, and the 
cloister of the Kreuzherrnorden with the red star. The 
church is built in the Italian renaissance style and is con- 
sidered, as to its architectonic harmony, the finest in the 
town. It was built in the y. 1672 — 1688 and renewed 
in 1851 — 1852. The fine oval cupola is by Rainer, the 
painting of the chief altar is by Li§ka. The cloister- buil- 
ding, erected in 1662, has a large library with very valuable 
manuscripts as to the history of Bohemia. Admission to 
inspect the church is given in the cloister. In front of the 
Ereuzherrnkirche stands 

the Monument of Charles IV. erected on'the 500*^ anni- 
versary of the foundation of the University of Prague by 
Charles IV., in the year 1848* The Monument is 9*48 w 
high, was designed by J. C. HSlhnel in Dresden and cast 



16 

by Burgschmidt in Nuremberg. The colossal statue of 
Charles IV. is 3*8 m high, holds the foundation-bull in the 
right hand and the left rests on a sword. On the pedestal 
in niches the four symbolic figures of the four faculties are 
placed. On the blunt comers there are the effigies of four 
eminent contemporaries of the emperor. On the front to the 
right, Ernst of Pardubic, the first Archbishop and Chancellor 
of the university; to the left Oczko of Vlashim, second 
Archbishop of Prague; on the reverse to the right, Benesh 
of Kolovrat, who saved the life of Charles IV. on the bridge 
of Pisa ; to the left Mathias of Arras, who built the cathedral 
of St. Guy. On the pedestal there is the inscription : Carolo 
quarto auctori suo literarum universitas. Festo seculari quinto 
1848. On the west of the Kreuzherrnkirche rises 

the Altstddter Bruckenturm {the Bridge-Tower of the 
Old Town) of the Emperor Charles Bridge. It was erected 
under Charles IV. and Wenzel IV. and renewed in 1874 till 
1879, its gothic style having been preserved. Its solidity 
was subjected to a brilliant test during the Thirty Years 
war. It resisted the shots of the Swedes for four weeks, 
and its brave defenders, consisting of the citizens of Prague 
and the students, have never wavered, A Latin inscription 
on the side of the bridge, refers to this event. The front of 
the tower towards the Altstadt is richly ornamented ; in the 
uppermost niches we see the statues of the patron-saints 
St. Guy and Adalbert, the statue of St. Sigismund, together 
with the sitting figures of the emperor Charles IV. and king 
Wenzel IV. on both sides. The armorial bearings in heraldic 
gay colours represent the provinces, united under the scepter 
of Charles, the Roman-German empire, Prague etc. The 
kingfisher in a blue loop, appearing several times, is an 
emblem of king Wenzel IV. On the vault of the thoroughfare 
are wall-paintings. The heads of the executed nobles on 
the Altstadter Ring on the 21. June 1621, were hung up 
in an iron cage till 1637 in this tower, which also contains 
a small museum. 

The KarlshrUcTce (Charles bridge), called gene- 
rally the Stone Bridge, unites the Altstadt with the Elein- 
seite, and is the oldest, as well as the most interesting in 
every respect of all the bridges of Prague. A wooden bridge 
existed in the locality of the present as early as the XII. 



The Bridge Tower of tbe Old Tui i 



17 

century, which Vladislav's I. spouse Judith replaced by a stone 
one, about the year 1170. It was destroyed by an ice-drift 
in the year 1342, after which the present stone bridge was 
commenced by the emperor Charles IV., its foundation stone 
was laid on the 9*^ July 1357. The construction was car- 
ried on by Peter Parler of Gmtind. It was often damaged 
by floods and finished only in the year 1503. The bridge 
has 16 arches, is 5*05 m long, 10*27 m wide and adorned 
with many statues of saints of stone and iron. Some of 
them, especially the former date from XVIII., the latter 
from the year 1853—1859. 

To the statue of St. Johann of NepomuJc, patron-saint 
of Bohemia, pilgrimages are performed every year on the 
16*^ May, the day of death of the saint; many thousands 
of pilgrims flock there from Bohemia and Moravia, to per- 
form their devotion. Not far from this statue, this saint is 
said to have been flung into the river by order of king 
Wenzel, because, according to a tradition, he refused to betray 
the secret, confided to him by the queen in the confessional. 

On the left bridge-pillar (with St. Vincent and Prokop), 
on the bank of the island Eampa, to which leads a double 
stair-case, rises the so called statue of Brunzvik, a figure 
of a knight with the city-arms and an unsheathed sword. 
The upper part of this statue, probably identical with the 
known Rolland-pillars, and therefore a sign of the Mart- 
staple rights of the city, has been shot off by a Swedish 
ball in 1648. The remaining lower part has been replaced 
by an immitation executed by Simek in 1884. The bridge 
has on its end the two 

Kleinseitner Bruckenturme, (the Bridge - Tower of 
the Little Town) which have been thoroughly repaired in 1878. 
The smaller tower is older and probably was the bridge- head 
of the Judith-bridge ; the larger one has been built by Georg 
of Pod^brad, and of the same date is the doubly arched gate 
with crenelled breastwork between the two towers, forming 
the entrance into the Kleinseite. 

The Kleinseite^ {Little Town) the oldest part of Prague, 
became a borough in the y. 1257 and was called the „Neue 
Stadt" in contrast with the Altstadt. It received its present 
name on account of its small extension. Under emperor Earl IV. 
it was enlarged to its present extent. Since Hradchin be- 



18 

came the residence of the Bohemian kings, the nohility of 
^Bohemia took its residence there, and this accounts for its 
namerous palaces. In the y. 1648 the Swedes captured the 
Kleinseite together with the Hradchin ; since 1784 both are 
united with the other parts of the town under one magi- 
stracy. In the yard of the house No 14 „to the 3 bells" 
in the Brttckengasse to the right, stands an old tower, adorned 
with the arms of the bishop of Prague Johann IV. of Dra- 
zitz, in which the bishops and archbishops of Prague resided 
till it was destroyed by the Hussites. 

T]ie Maltheser- Church at Maria sub catena (under the 
chain) in the Badegasse (Ldzeiiskd ulice) has been erected by 
king Vladislav I. for the order of the Johannites. Ottokar II. 
enclosed it when fortifying the Kleinseite, with ditches and 
walls, also with an iron gilt chain, whence its name. This 
church is in its present state only a remainder of an old 
gothic structure, which suffered much in the y. 1420 from 
the Hussites, and still more from a conflagration in 1503. 
In the interior are worthy of note: Mary in the clouds, on 
the chief altar, and the beheading of St. Barbara, both pain- 
tings by Skreta, and the memorial of the Grand-prior, count 
Rudolph of CoUoredo-Wallsee, the defender of Prague against 
the Swedes in the y. 1648, executed in carrara-marble. In 
the Grandprioratsgebaude close by, erected in 1726, the 
rich archives oft the highest Maltheserordens are kept. 

The Palace of Nostic on the third Maltheserplatz 
(Malt^zsk^ ndmestf) was built in the y. 1600 and contains 
a rich library, a picture-gallery, numerous, very valuable 
treasures of art and antiquities. 

The library contains 8000 works, among them histo- 
rical, medical, astronomical, mathematical and other rare 
manuscripts, of which mention may be made of the manu- 
script of Copernicus' chief work: „De corporum coelestium 
revolutionibus." The picture-gallery contains about 400 num- 
bers, in which almost all the prominent masters of the old 
schools as well as more modern painters are represented. 
We find here: Bloemaert, Breughel, Cranach, A. Dttrer, 
A. van Dyck, J. van Dyck, L. Giordano, Guerino, Holbein, 
Mieris, Mireveldt, A. van der Neer, Ostade, Potter, Poussin, 
Rembrandt, Reni, S. Rosa, Rubens, Ruysdael, Velasquez, 
Teniers, Tizian, P. de Vecchia, P. Veronese a. o. (Catalogue 



19 

at the janitor's). Further are remarkable: the collections 
of copperprints and coins, plaster-casts of antic and modern 
itatues, busts, vessels of ivory, lapislazuli etc. 

Returning into the Brflckengasse we reach the Englishen 
Frduleinstift and St Joseph's Church in the Josephgasse 
(Josefskd ulice); it contains two paintings by Brandel, 
St. Joseph and St. Theresa. The church and cloister were 
erected in the years 1656 — 1671 for the Order of the 
Carmelites; in the year 1783 endowed by an English lady 
Mary de Ward. Countess of Auersperg made it over to the 
„Englishen FrSuleins", introduced to Prague in 1747, and who 
dedicate themselves to the education of young girls. Close by is 

the St. Thomas' Church and the adjoining Augustiner- 
cloister destined by king Wenzel in the y. 1285 for the 
Augustine-order, wearing shoes; in the y. 1420 they were 
expelled by the Hussites, and the church as well as the 
cloister badly devastated. They were repaired in 1497, but 
a terrible conflagration, which laid the greater part of Elein- 
seite in ashes, destroyed the church and cloister again. Fer- 
dinand I. and Rudolph II. had the building renewed, which 
was entirely reconstructed in the XVIII. century. The church 
possesses two valuable paintings by Rubens: St. Augustin 
and St. Thomas, besides a St. Thomas by Skreta. The ceiling 
is painted by Rainer. In the cross-corridor of the cloister, 
whose library contains about 10.000 volumes, rest the English 
lady Jane Weston (f 1612), who composed Latin poems and 
the famous goldsmith de Bruxelles from Flanders (f 1635). 
Along the Thomasgasse (Tomd§skd ulice) we get to 

the Count Waldstein's Palace on the Waldsteinsquare 
(Vald§t^nsk6 ndmSstf), which has been erected by order of 
Albrecht of Waldstein, duke of Friedland, in the y. 1623 till 
1630 after the plans of the architect Marini from Milan, 
on an area, where formerly about twenty houses used to stand. 
This grand edifice of the Friedlftnder is partly preserved in 
its original state, so the large Hall with karyatides and 
a fresco-painting on the ceiling, representing Waldstein as 
triumphator, the Chapel with oratory, the astrological Cabinet, 
the Bath-grotto, the gaming-room with portraits of Waldstein 
and his two spouses, the stuffed horse, which the warrior 
rode in the battle at Ltttzen, the so called Salla terrina, 
a large, open garden-hall with frescoes. In the private room 



20 

there are to be seen many family portraits, old weapons etc. 
In the garden with beautiful grounds there is a large voliere, 
a wall in stalactite imitation, plant-houses and adjoining 
a riding-school, in which splendid carrousels arc held by the 
Bohemian nobility on festival occasions. 

The Furstenherg^s Palace in the Waldsteingasse (Vald- 
stynskA ulice) has a valuable library with almost 30.000 vo- 
lumes and a very beautiful garden. 

From the Waldsteinplatz we get across the Fttnfkirchen- 
platz (P^tikostelni ndmSsti), with the Bohemian Diet-House, 
and along the Ftlnfkirchengasse (Petikostelnf ulice) with the 
Palace of the governor, to the Kleinseitner Ring (Malo- 
stransk6 ndmSsti), which is divided by a block of houses 
in two squares, the eastern and western or proper squares. 

On the former stands the BadetzTcy- Monument, solemnly 
unveiled on the 13*** Novemb. 1858. On a granite socle 
8 soldiers of different troops bear on a shield the field- 
marshal Radetzky, who holds the colours in his left and the 
baton in his right hand. The model of the chief-figure is 
by Em. Max, that of the other figures by Jos. Max, cast 
by Burgschmiedt in Nuremberg. The total height till to the 
top of the colours is lO'l w. 

The k. u. k. Corps- Commando-building in the western 
part of the square was till the beginning of the last cen- 
tury a palace of the counts Liechtenstein, then of the counts 
Ledebour and since 1849 it is adapted for the present use. 
Opposite is 

the St. Nicholas-Church, an imposing cupola-edifice in 
the baroc style; its foundation-stone has been laid by the 
Jesuits in the y. 1628. The building was carried on by 
Christ. Dienzenhofer, and later by his son Eilian Ignaz, and 
completed in the y. 1752. Since 1784 it is a parish church. 
The interior is richly decorated with marble pillars, colossal 
statues and ornaments of various sorts. The brass statue 
of St. Nicholas, richly gilt, on the chief altar, is a work of 
Ign. Platzer. The frescoes in the cupola and in the apsides 
are by F. X. Balko, whose chief work, the dying St. Francis 
Xav., is on a side altar. The frescoes of the nave are by 
J. L. Graker. Other remarkable altar-pictures were painted 
by Skreta (Christ on the Cross), Solimena (St. Michael), 
Kohl (St. Barbara). 



21 

In the centre of the square stands the Trinity statue ; 
it was made by And. Quitainer and Prokov, and erected in 
memory of the extinction of the plague. 

In the Waischen Gasse (Vla§sk4 ulice) below the Lau- 
renziberg (Petffn, Nebozlzek) there is the Prince LohTcovitz's 
Palace (Line Melnik-Hofin) with a library of about 45.000 
volumes, among them rare incunables, manuscripts from the 
XI. and XII. cen., miniatures ate. The garden, rising in 
the shape of a terrace, offers beautiful points of view of 
Prague. 

In the steep Neruda-Gasse (Nerudova ulice), leading to 
the Hradchin, rises the Morzin's Palace, dating from 1670 
withs Prpkov's karyatides of moors' statues above the portal. 
The count Thun-Hohenstein's Palace opposite was built in the 
beginning of the XYIII. cent, by the Italian Anselm Luragho 
and adorned with works of sculpture by Math. Braun, and 
with karyatides in the shape of eagles. The hind part to- 
wards the Schloss-Stiege is the former Slavata's Palace, and 
is preserved still in the old renaissance style; in the gable 
there are the arms of Slavata and of the Rosenbergs. 

The Kajetan-Ghurch, nowMarien-Church, erected close by 
in the y. 1691 — 1717, contains paintings by M. Altomonte 
and Rainer. 

The Hradchin is the most interesting of all the parts 
of the city. Libusha built a princely castle (Hrad — Burg) 
on this hill, around which rose by and by a borough, which 
in the middle of the XIV. cent, had the name Hradchin. 
On its summit rises 

the Strahov, a Premonstratensian Abbey with a church. 
It was founded by king Vladislav I. in the y. 1140, and 
after repeated devastations, especially during the Hussite wars, 
it was repaired in the present shape towards the end of the 
XYII. cent, by the Italian architects Chianevalle and Carloni, 
and by the archiepiscopal architect Matth9.us of Burgund. 
The Mary Assumption-Church contains the largest organ of 
Bohemia (50 registers and 3177 pipes), a work of the 
Premonstratensian Lohelius Oelschlftger, from the year 1780. 
The stucco-works and frescoes on the ceiling and on 
the walls are by J. W. Neuherz, Raab, Kramolin and 
Nosetzky. Other noteworthy objects in the church are : 
The large tomb of the founder of the order St. Norbert, 



22 

the tomb of the king Vladislav I. and of count Gottf. Pappen- 
heim, who fell in the battle of LUtzen, of his son Wolfgang 
(f 1647); the tomb of many prelates; altar-pictures by 
Franz X. Balko, Willmann and Hftring. The altars are of 
Bohemian marble and executed by J. Lauermann. 

The library of the Abbey, erected in the years 1782 — 93, 
contains above 65.000 volumes and in that number many 
incunables and manuscripts, and a collection of about 10.000 
escutcheons, mostly of Bohemian noble families. The paint- 
ings on the ceilings were executed by Maulpertsch in the 
year 1794; the beautiful chests are from the abby Eloster- 
bruck in Moravia, abolished in the year 1784. In the li- 
brary are hanging good portraits of Georg R&k6czy and 
Zi^ka. The Picture-Gallery was opened in 1837 and con- 
tains about 500 numbers, and among them Albrecht DUrer's 
„ Festival of the Rosary", paintings by Lucas Cranach, Carlo 
Dolce, Guido Reni and others. The St. Rochuskirche in the 
court, founded by Rudolph 11., has the shape of a star and 
is built in the transition-style from gothic to renaissance ; 
it has been abolished in the year 1784, but repaired in the 
year 1881 — 82 and reopened. 

The Fran^ Josephs Barracks on the Loretto-Platz are 
a grand edifice adorned with 30 pillars in the front ; it was 
formerly the count Czernin's Palace, which the government 
has bought. 

The Capuchin-Monastery opposite is the oldest Capu- 
chin-settlement in Bohemia (1600), and possesses a valuable 
library, an archive with interesting MS. The Loretto- 
church, belonging to the Monastery was erected in 1661 and 
enlarged in 1718; the frescoes on the ceiling are by Rai- 
ners. The tower contains a chiming clock, now out of re- 
pair, with 27 bells and was made by the clockmaker Neu- 
mann in 1694. The cloister before the church, with 6 cha- 
pels, was completed in the second half of the XVII. century ; 
the altar-painting in the Francis Seraph. Chapel is by 
Brandel. The treasury of the monastery, kept in three 
rooms of the cloister, contains the richest church-treasures 
in Bohemia, consisting of monstrances (among them one 
with 6580 diamonds), chalices, mitres, various utensils for 
the church of gold, silver, laid out with pearls and gems, 
carvings in ivory, pictures in email ate. The Loretto-Chapel 



23 

in the conrt is an imitation of the Santa Gasa in Loretto, 
and was bnilt by the. conntess Benigna of Lobkowitz; the 
stucco-works are by Agosto (1684). 

Along the Lorettogasse we get to the Hradchiner Schloss- 
platz, in the centre of which rises a Column of Mary by 
Prokov, dating from the y. 1736. 

The Toskana^s Palace to the west, which formerly 
belonged to this grandducal family, is now property of the 
emperor Francis Joseph. 

The Karmeliterinnencloister, Nunnery of the Carmelites, 
contains the tomb of its first abbess, of the bl. Elekta; the 
St. fienedict-Church belongs to it. 

The Prince Schwarzenberg's Palace near by in the 
old Florentine style with sgraffitopaintings on the gable-front 
and cornice, went over to the Schwarzenberg family in 1719; 
formerly it belonged to the Rosenbergs, then Schwambergs 
and Eggenbergs. 

The Archiepiscopal Palace to the north of the square 
was erected by Job. Wirth 1719 and has a beautiful private 
chapel to St* John the Baptist, a library, portraits of the 
archbishops of Prague and of the Popes. It contains also 
the offices of the archiepiscopal Consistory. 

Near the wallparapet of the Neuen Schloss-Stiege, leading 
to the Kleinseite, there stands a statue of St. Philipp Nerius. 
From this spot opens a beautiful view of the whole town. 

On the east side of the Hradchiner Schlossplatz rises 
the kdnigliche Burg or Boyal Castle. . 

History: The princess Libnsha founded on the Schloss- 
berg a castle, and later on Wenzel the Holy erected here 
a ducal residence. The kings Wenzel I. and Ottokar II. 
fortified the castle strongly, but in the beginning of the 
Xiy. century it was entirely destroyed by fire, Charles IV. 
reconstructed the castle of Prague after the Louvre in Paris, 
and under Vladislav the architect Benedict Rieth made an 
addition, which was completed in the year 1502. In the 
year 1541 a confiagration destroyed the castle of Vladislav 
except the Hall of Homage and some adjoining wings. Fer- 
dinand I. erected the northern, Mathias I. the western part 
of the castle, in which Rudolf II. gathered his numberless 
treasures of art, which were scattered over all the quarters 



24 

of the world in consequence of the Thirty Year's War and 
under Charles VI* Its present appearance owes the castle, 
which was greatly damaged by Prussian sieges, to the Em- 
press Maria Theresia, who ordered it to be put into repair 
by the architects Anselm Luragho, Gunz and Hafeneker in 
the years 1766 till 1775. 

The castle contains three courts^ The first Burgplace 
is separated from the Hradchinerplace by an iron railing 
with statues by J. Platzer. Through a doric portal, built 
under king Mathias in the y, 1614 by Scamozzi, and from 
which leads a beautiful staircase into the imperial cham- 
bers, we pass to the second Burgplace, in the centre of 
which rises a richly adorned fountain by Heidelberger, da- 
ting from the year 1681 ; there is also the Imp, Roy, Pri- 
vate Chapel, 

The northern tract of the castle contains the Deutschen 
and spanischen Saal (German and Spanish Halls) ^ both 
erected under the reign of Ferdinand I. 

The German Hall is 470 m^ large and contained under 
Rudolph II. the chief treasures of the collection of this im- 
perial protector of arts. 

The Spanish Hall is 1152 w*^ large and is therefore 
one of the largest halls in Europe. It was planned in 
1601 by Horatio Fontana de Brussato and reconstructed 
under Maria Theresia by J. K. Dienzenhofer. The walls of 
these two halls are richly covered with marble and mirrors, 
the ceilings, from which hang heavy gilt chandeliers, are 
profusely decorated with ornaments of stucco. 

In both these halls court-festivals are still held, and were 
magnificently renovated for that purpose in the y. 1868. 

On the third Burgplace rises to the left the Metropolitan 
Church of St. Vitus (see further on below); in front of it 
stands above a fountain-basin 

The Equestrian Statue of St, George^ cast in bronze in 
1373 by order of Charles IV.; it was executed by the 
brothers Martin and George, the sons of the painter Nico- 
laus von Klausenburg; but only the figure of the rider has 
been preserved from that time, the horse having been in- 
jured, was considerably repaired in 1562. 

The remarkable sights in the eastern wing of the castle, 
the Vladislav's part, are: 



25 

The Vladislav's Hall^ alpo called the Hall of Homage, 
because it was there, that the kings received homage, after 
having been crowned, from the estates. It is 68*3 m long, 
18*96 m wide and 13*3 w high and was built under Vladi- 
slav in the y* 1484 till 1502 by Benedict Rieth with artful 
vaults of the later gothic. A richly twisted net of orna- 
mental ribs overspins the vault of the enormous room. 

Tournaments used to be held there sometimes in former 
times, as on the occasion of the coronation of Ferdinand I. 
as king of Bohemia (1527). 

The Landtagssaal (Diet-hall) in which the sittings of 
the Bohemian Diet took place till the year 1847, contains 
a beautiful gothic rib- vault with stone busts of Vladislav IL 
and of the architect Benedict Rieth, further 11 standards 
of Bohemian volunteer-legions from the French wars and 
portraits of several regents. 

The Old StatthaltereiJcandei (Senators Hall) in the 
wing towards the city is preserved in the same state, in 
which it was, when on the 23^ of May 1618 the royal 
counsellors Martinic and Slavata, as well as their secretary, 
Fabricius were thrown into a moat, more than 1 6 iw deep, 
by the protestant estates of Bohemia. But all fell on 
a dunghill without receiving any hurt and escaped the shots, 
which were levelled after them. Fabricius hastened to 
Vienna to inform the emperor of what had happened. The 
portraits of the two counsellors, thrown down, are hanging 
on the wall. 

Tlie Cathedral of St. Vitus. Wenzel the Holy erected, 
as early as in the year 930 on the space, which the re- 
novated cathedral occupies, a St. Vitus' church, which be- 
came a cathedral under Boleslav II. and was demolished 
under SpitihnSv III. in 1060 in order to make room for 
a larger one, which was completed by his brother Vrati- 
slav II. It suffered much from different vicissitudes till king 
Johann von Luxemburg and Charles the IV. laid the 
foundation stone of the present cathedral on the 21"* No- 
vember 1344 in consequence of the bishopric of Prague 
having become an archbishopric. The building was carried 
on by Mathias von Arras from the year 1344 — 1352, and 
after his death by Peter Parler von Gmtind, and later on 
by his son Johann; but the church has never been com^ 



26 

pleted. By the Hussite wars and still more by a terrible 
conflagration in the year 1541 it was greatly damaged. Da- 
ring the siege of Prague by Friderick of Prussia the ex- 
terior and the interior were dreadfully devastated by bombs | 
and fire. Very little has been done afterwards for its re- '* 
storation and repair. \ 

In the year 1859 the „Dombau-Verein" was formed with 
the view, to repair the damaged parts of the St. Vitus- Ca- 
thedral, one of the most remarkable monuments of mediae- 
val architecture, and to complete it. The work was carried i 
on by the architect Kranner (f 1872), after him by Joseph ! 
Mocker (f 1899) and it proceeds hopefully. The cathedral, 
designed according to Eranner's plans with five naves, is to 
have a length of 158 m and a width of 45-83 m. At present , 
the choir is completed; it is 55-4 m long, 23-7 m wide and 
is surrounded by 12 chapels. The unsightly spire is 99 '/a ^ 
high and is to reach the height of 156 m in corresponding i 
style. In the ground-story there is the Hasenburg-Chapel, ; 
in the first story seven bells, of which „Sigismund" is the 
largest; it weighs 139 Vs q and was cast in 1549. From the * 
balcony of the spire opens a beautiful view. 

To the east of the cathedral beside the spire there 
was an old mosaic-picture, now removed, representing the 
Last Day, the Bohemian patron- saints, Charles IV. and his 
spouse Elisabeth. The interior of the cathedral is wonder- 
ful as regards architecture, and is rich in historical and art- 
treasures. 

The pillars of the quaint triforium gallery are adorned 
with 21 busts of members of the royal family, of archbishops 
and architects of the cathedral. 

The new gothic chief altar is carved in Planer lime- 
stone from designs by Kranner senior; the relic-shrine is 
adorned with email-paintings from the designs of Sequens. 

In the middle-nave there is the royal mausoleum within 
a beautiful railing from the XVI. century, executed in 
Carrara marble by order of Rudolph II. at the expense of 
32 thousand ducats, by Alexander Collin from Mecheln (Malines) 
in the year 1589. The figures, resting on the Mausoleum are : 
Ferdinand I. (f 1564), his spouse Anna and Maximilian II. 
(f 1576); on the side walls are relief images of Charles IV. 
(t 1378) and of his four spouses (Blanca of Valois, ^nna 



k- 
I 



27 

of the Palatinate, Anna of Scbweidnitz and Elizabeth of 
, Stettin) ; of Wenzel IV. (1419), of Ladislav Posthumus (f 1458) 
and George of Podebrad (f 1471), whose remains are laid 
in the sepulchre together with those of Rudolph II. (f 1612) 
and of the Duchess of Parma Maria Amalia (f 1804). 

The 12 chapels in the choir-circuit, taken from the 
right of the chief entrance: 

1. Tlie YenzeVs Chapel, founded by Johann of Luxemburg, 
vaulted and completed by Peter Parler in the year 1366. 
The walls are covered with Bohemian precious stones and 
the gaps filled up wittf gold ; the nether frescoes (the Cruci- 
fixion of Christ) date from the XIV. century; those above, 
less discernible (the St. Wenzel legend) were remade in the 
XVI. century. The tomb of St. Venzel with his relics was 
formerly richly adorned with gold and gems, but was de- 
prived of its precious objects by Sigmund in the year 1420. 
The bronze ring in the lions head on the door of the chapel, 
is said to be the same, of which the saint took hold when 
being murdered by his brother Boleslav in Altbunzlau in the 
year 935. This scene is the object of a picture behind the 
altar, painted by Lucas Cranach in the year 1543. In 
a shrine of the backside of the altar, erected in 1673, the 
helmet and coat-of-mail of St. Venzel is shown. Among other 
remarkable objects may be mentioned: The bronze Venzel- 
candelabrum cast by Peter Vischer in Nuremberg in the 
year 1532; a reliquiary, which is given out by mistake as 
the model of the cathedral ; a baptismal iont, hewn of a single 
piece of serpentine-stone; an Ascension of Mary painted by 
Barthol. Spranger. From the chapel a door leads up a win- 
ding stair to the Crown-Chamber. The keys of that door 
are kept by seven dignitaries of the land. Along the wall 
at the entrance to the Venzel Chapel there is the tomb of 
George Popel of Lobkovic (1590) and at the pillar opposite 
the tomb of the imper. marshal L. J. Schlick (f 1723). 

2. The Martinitz Chapel contains the tomb of the im- 
perial councellor Jaroslav von Martinitz, who was hurled out 
of the window in the year 1618, the sepulchre of Barbara 
von Cilli, spouse of the emperor Sigismund (f 1451) etc. 
The picture on the altar, Christ on the Cross, is by Johann 
von Aachen. The handsome gothic altar of Carrara marble 
is a work of Wilhelm Achtermann, and has been presented 

3 



28 

to the church hy the cathedral provost Wtirfel. The frescoes 
were painted by Sequens, who also designed the cartoons for 
the windowglass-paintings. 

3. The SL Simon and Jude Chapel has on its chief 
altar a crucifix with the body of Christ, masterly carved of 
cedar wood, a present by the emperor Rudolph IL The pic- 
ture of Christ on the wall to the left, called the „vera icon" 
is said to have been painted from a Byzantine picture in 
Rome in the year 1368 in the presence of Charles IV.; 
the pictures on the frame represent the patron-saints of 
Bohemia. The glass-paintings are executed from cartoons by 
Lhota. Above the side-entrance adjoining the chapel there 
is the imperial Oratorium with admirable vaulting of crossed 
branchribs ; it was built under Vladislav II. by Benedict Rieth 
and renovated in the years 1861 and 1878. 

4. Tlie Waldstein Chapel was founded by Adam von 
Waldstein, once chief burggrave. The old wood relief on 
the opposite pillar represents the devastation of the cathe- 
dral by Scultetus, preacher of Friedrich of the Palatinate in 
the year 1619. 

5. Tlie Johann NepomuJc Chapel or Vlashimer Kapelle 
contains the sepulchre of its founder, of the second arch- 
bishop of Prague, O^ko von Vlashim (f 1380) and a bronze 
memorial- slab of the countess Ludmila Berka von Thurn 
(f 1582). On the chief altar stand the silver busts of 
St. Adalbert, Wenzel, Vitus and Volfgang; in the midst of 
them hangs a Mary-picture by Brandel. The glass-paintings 
of the windows were executed in Innsbruck. Tlie silver tomb 
of St. Johann of Nepomuk in the central nave was cast in 
the years 1736 — 1760 by the silversmith to the court in 
Vienna Job. Jos. Wirth. It has more then a hundred ctw. 
and worth about 200.000 florins; it is a work not without 
artistic value. The statues surrounding the coffin, represent : 
Discretion, Humility, Love and Obedience. On the coffin 
the Saint is kneeling under a canopy of red damask, held 
by four silver angels. 

6. TJie Sternberg Chapel contains the tomb of count 
Sternberg, the sepulchres of Ottokar I. (1230) and of Otto- 
kar II. (t 1278) completed by the hand of Peter Parler 
about the year 1377, and under a marble stab with a Latin 
inscription are the . entrails of Rudolph II. On the wall is 



\ 






29 

visible the coat-of-arms of the Duke Rudolph of Saxony 

(f 1356), who founded the altar, and therefore this chapel 

is also named the Saxon chapel. From a pillar a gun-ball I 

is hanging on a chain, which was thrown into the cathedral ^ 

while the Prussians besieged Prague in the year 1757. The 

designs for the glass-paintings of the windows are by Mocker 

and Sequens. 

7. TJie Berka Chapel, now called Trinity or imperial 
Chapel, contains the sepulchre of the family Berka von Duba, 
and the tombs of the Dukes Bfetislav I. (f 1055) and his 
spouse Judith and of Spitihn^y (f 1061). The marble group 
on the chief altar representing the martyr'sdeath of St. Lud- 
mila, is a work by Eman. Max and a present from the Em- 
press Maria Anna. Near it stands the so called Salomon's 
candelabrum, which is said to have been brought from the 
Temple at Jerusalem to Milan, and hence in the year 1162 
by king Wenzel I. to Prague. In reality, the lower part seems to 
date from the XII. century; the candle-stick like upper part 
has been cast in the year 1641. The glass-painting of the 
windows has been executed from cartoons by FQhrich, Scheiwl 
and Eranner by Quast. 

Opposite the chapel, on the backside of the high altar 
of the chief nave is the altar and the tomb of St. Vitus, 
with a statue of the saint by Jos. Max. In the corridor of 
the church rest 14 bishops (from 1067 — 1311) of Prague 
under smooth trodden stones. 

8. The Chapel of 8L John the Baptist contains the tombs 
of Bfetislav II. (f 1100) and Boi'ivoj H. (f 1120). The 
glass-paintings in the windows (among them in the middle 
window Ernst von Pardubitz, who founded the chapel in the 
year 1352) are by Quast from Trenkwald's and Lhota's designs. 

At the pillar opposite is the tomb of the physician in 

ordinary Guarinoni of Rudolph II. 
I 9. The Pernstein Chapel, also called Kinsky or Mo- 

l ravian Chapel, shows the red marble tomb of Count Yrati- 

slav of Pernstein (f 1582), then the sepulchre of Count 
t, Anton Kinsky and is the Mausoleum of the last six arch- 
-■ bishops of Prague. The designs for the glass-paintings of the 
t\ windows are from Sequens and Mocker. Before the chapel 
B t is the tomb-stone of the historiographer PeSina z Cechorodu 
9" (t 1680). 

3* 



li 



30 

10. The 8L Anna Chapel was formerly the sepulchre 
chapel of the Counts Nostitz, therefore also called Nostitz 
chapel. The gothic altar, made from sketches by Mocker, 
is adorned with statue by §imek; the very valuable and 
costly reliquiary, deposited inside of it, bears the year 1266 
and is a present from Count Nostitz. The frescoes, referring 
to the St. Anna legend, as well as the glass-paintings of the 
windows have been executed from designs made by J. Swerts. 
Opposite to the chapel on the backside of the presbytery, 
there are two old interesting reliefs in wood; they represent 
the flight of Frederick of the Palatinate after the battle of 
the White Hill, and offer a pretty faithfull picture of Prague 
before the Thirty Year's War. 

11. The St. Michael Chapel is now used as vestry; in 
the adjoining Treasury are preserved many interesting anti- 
quities, valuable objects of art and relics. (The sword of 
St. Wenzel, the sword of St. Stephan, two so called RoUand 
horns, carved of ivory, gold crosses with precious stones, an 
onyx vase, chasubles and church vessels, old pictures on 
leather and wood, 16 leaves from the Gospel, which is said 
to have been written by St. Mark, a Codex with miniatures 
from the XIV. century, parts of the crown of thorns, of the 
holy Cross, of the garment of the Mother of Christ, the tongue 
of St. John of Nepomuk etc. 

12. TTie Sigismund Chapel is the burial place of se- 
veral members of the Count Czernin Houses, therefore also 
called the Czernin Chapel. There is the tomb of St. Sigmund, 
king of Burgundy, and of his spouse, the St. Constantia, as 
well as the tomb of the Transsilvanian Prince Sigmund 
Bdthory (f 1613). The glass-paintings have been made in 
Innsbruck from plans by Lhota. 

The large organ of the choir was constructed by Anton 
Gartner from Tachau in the year 1763. Behind the St. Vitus' 
cathedral on the Georgsplatz (U sv. Jifi) stands 

the St, George^s Church with a Benedictine monastery 
in former times. The church was founded by Vratislav I. 
in the year 912, the monastery in the year 971 by Bole- 
slav II., whose sister Milada was its first abbess. After the 
fire in the year 1142, about the middle of the 12*^ century, 
a new building was raised by the German stone-mason Wern- 
her. Emperor Joseph II, abolished the monastery in 1782, 



31 

and a part of it is at present used as barracks, while the 
other part made place for the new Provost's building. The 
church, a remarkable pillar-basilika, has preserved, in spite 
of many transformations, the romanesque style and is the 
oldest church in Prague. It contains the tombes of Vrati- 
slav I. and Boleslav II., in the Ludmila chapel the stone - 
tombs of these saints in gothic style and sculptures from 
the XIV. century. In the year 1858 the chapel has been 
renovated, and its western wall painted with frescoes from 
the Ludmila legend by J. Hellich. In the Anna Chapel 
there is the sepulchre of the first abbess Milada, and of the 
abbess princess Kunigunde. Under the presbytery, in the 
Ludmila Chapel and in the vestry remains of old wallpaintings 
have been discovered recently, dating from the XIII. century, 
the tomb or hrypta rests on 6 pillars. 

Some of the old reliefs are also remarkable. The 
beautiful side-portal shows in its tympanon relief, saint 
George with the dragon. The two spires on the last side are 
built till up to the top of bricks, and are being at present 
thoroughly repaired. 

The All Saints-Church {Allerheiligen-Kirche) is an edi- 
fice, completed by Peter Parler before 1385. Charles lY. 
raised it to a collegiate church. 

The adjoining Ther^anische Bammstift, formerly a pa- 
lace of the Rosenbergs, was founded in the year 1755 by 
Maria Theresia; the abbess has the right, to place the 
crown of Bohemia on the head of the queen, when being 
crowned. 

Passing the Georg-barracks we enter the Daliborka- 
Lane, in tho houses of which the alchymists and gem grin- 
ders of Rudolph the II. had their workshops. 

The LdhkovitZ'Falade joins the Damenstift and stretches 
till to the old Burgtor. From the bastion in front of the 
same opens a beautiful view of Prague. 

The old Oberstburggrafenamt (the Chief Burggrave 
offices) opposite the Lobkovic, was built in the year 1555 
on the spot, where, it is said, the castle of St. Wenzel and 
later on, the residence of Charles lY. was standing. Above 
the entrance the four coats-of-arm of the former burggraves 
are placed (of Waldstein, Yrtba, Martinitz and Ftlrstenberg). 
In the large judgement-hall (P^ story) with paintings on the 






32 

ceiling, Salomon's verdict, criminals of the lordly and knightly 
order were tried, and in the anti-hall the capital punishment 
was at once executed with the sword. From the court we 
reach Black Tower (Schwarzer Turm) and the Dalihorka. 

The Schwarger Turm belonged formerly, just like the 
other towers towards .the deer-park, to the old fortifications 
of the castle, and therefore was used as a prison. 

The Daliborha was transformed into a prison for state- 
criminals in the year 1496, and derives its name from 
knight Dalibor, whos was held prisoner here, because he 
incited peasants to mutiny; he remained there till he was 
beheaded in the year 1498. 

The Weisser Turm (White Tower) or debtor's tower, 
was a prison for debtors and cheaters. 

Returning by the Royal Castle we pass through the 
northern gate of the second Burgplatz to 

the Hirschgraben (Deer -Park), a deep glen on the 
north side of the Hofburg, in which under Rudolph II. stags 
were kept. 

The Schlossgarten, beyond the deer-park, laid out by 
Ferdinand I., contains an interesting ore basin, rich with 
figures by Thomas Jarosch of BrUnn, executed in the years 
1554 — 1559. On the east side of the Schlossgarten rises 

the Belvedere or Ferdincmd's J/ustschloss, one of the 
finest monuments of the renaissance style. Ferdinand I. 
had it executed for his spouse Anna by the Italian archi- 
tects Paolo de Stella and Ferrabosco di Lagno in the years 
1536 — 1556. The roof is of copper; above the arches are 
beautiful arabesques and reliefs. The floor of the upper 
gallery, which affords a beautiful view of Prague, was for- 
merly laid out with cedar-wood. 

Under Rudolph 11. it served for a longer time as ob- 
servatory of the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. 

The frescoes represent the following scenes : 1. Baptism 
of Bofivoj (871) by Lhota. 2. The Murder of St. Venzel 
(936) by Caii Svoboda. 3. The Transfer of the relics of 
St. Adalbert to Prague (1039) by Trenkwald. 4. Crowning 
of the Duke Yratislav king of Bohemia (1056) by Svoboda. 
5. Vladislav resigns the crown of Bohemia in favour of his 
brother Ottokar I. (1198) by Trenkwald. 6. Wenzel I. as 
a minstrel (1230) by Svoboda. 7. Victory of Ottokar II. 



33 

over the Samianders (1255) by Lhota. 8. Foundation of 
the University of Prague by Charles IV. (1348) by Trenk- 
wald. 9. The Battle of the Hussites at Lipan (1434) by 
Trenkwald. 10. Crowning of Emperor Albrecht II. (1438) 
by Svoboda. 11. Emperor Kndolph II., Protector of Arts, 
by Lauffer. 12. Defence of Prague against the Swedes 
(1648) by Lauffer. 13. Empereor Joseph II. during the 
famine in Prague (1772) by Svoboda. 14. Emperor Leopold II. 
in a sitting of the Royal Bohemian Society of Sciences 
(1790) by Till. 

The Choteksanlagen or the Volksgarten (Chotkovy sady) 
to the east from the Belvedere, is worth visiting on account 
of the charming view of Prague, which presents itself from 
this spot. From here we get along the Chotekstrasse to 

Klar's Asylum for the Blind, founded by prof. Klar 
in the year 1832 for the adult blind, and remarkable for 
the St. Raphaelskapelle, belonging to it, which contains 
a beautiful statue of the archangel Raphael in marble, by 
Emanuel Max and fine frescoes by Eandler and Lhota from 
Ftlhrich's designs. 

Along the Kettensteggasse (U 2elezn6 Idvky) we get to 
the formerly Jesuit's garden, where now rises the monumental 
edifice of Count Straka's Academy, founded and endowed 
with funds by Count Straka, as an educational institution 
for the higher classes of the kingdom of Bohemia. It occu- 
pies an area of 22.300 m^ (of which 4.000 m^ are covered 
with buildings). 

Across the chain-bridge, made from the plans of Ordish 
in 1869, we get to the Kronprinz Rudolphs-quay (Ndbi'eif 
korunnlho prince Rudolfa), in the centre of which stands the 
magnificent 

Budolphinu/m, the artists house in]^the Italian renais- 
sance style. The building, which occupies an area of 5035 m^ 
consists of a northern and southern tract. In the elevated 
ground-floor of the first is the amphitheatre-like Concert-hall, 
to which leads a spacious free staircase. In the ground-, 
floor of the northern tract is the Conservatory for Music, 
founded by a Society, for the furtherance of the musical art 
in the year 1810. In the elevated ground-floor, to which 
a staircase leads from the side of the bank, is the Exposi- 
tion Hall (Kunsthof) for the exhibition of plastic works; 



34 

a smaller Concert-Hall, rooms for pei'iodical expositions and 
various offices. From the Eansthof we get across a free 
staircase to a loggia, in the wall of which different memo- 
rial- slabs are inserted, and then to the sky-light halls of 

the Picture-Gallery of the Society of Friends of Patriotic 
Art, in which the painting schools of almost all the times 
and countries ar aptly represented. A rich collection of 
copperprints, especially those of Wenzel Hollar from Prague, 
who died in London in the year 1677, is exhibited on the 
eastside in a higher situated hall. 

Opposite the Rudolphinum is the Academy of Plastic 
Art and the Industrial School. 

The Jcunstgewerhliches Museum (Industrial Museum), 
which was formerly located in the Rudolphinum, has now 
its own beautiful edifice opposite the Rudolphinum in the 
Salnitergasse. The collections contain industrial objects of 
keramic, glass, precious and common metals, small plastics, 
furniture, textiles, leather-work, book-bindings and outfits of 
books; special attention deserve: Bohemian glass from the 
XVII. and XVIII. centuries. The library contains exclusi- 
vely works of art-industry and models* 

From here we pass into the Earpfengasse (Kaprovd. 
ulice) in 

the Josephsiadt (Judenstadt). In this quarter, consi- 
sting mostly of crooked lanes with shabby houses, the Jews 
had a synagogue as early as 1124, having settled in the 
vicinity of the borough of Prague. 

In consequence of sanitary measures a considerable 
number of houses has been demolished in this quarter. 
Through the Josephst&dter Strasse, the main street, we pass 
into the Rabbinergasse (Rabinsk4 ulice) at the corner of 
which to the right stands the old jUdische Rathaus (Jewish 
town-hall) with a clock, the dial of which has Roman and 
Jewish ciphers, and its hands move from the right to the 
left. Opposite is 

the Altneuschule, one of the oldest buildings in Pragae 
and one of the oldest synagogues of Europe. The early 
gothic style dates from the XIV. century. A fine portal 
in pure pointed arch-style leads you several steps down into 
the gloomy interior; the ceiling is supported by tv^o 
octagonal pillars, and the walls are blackened by age 



I 






85 

and the soot of lamps, which remained untouched for cen- 
turies. Beside many Hebrew valuable objects, a flag is being 
shown, dedicated to the Jews of Prague by Ferdinand III. 
in recognition of their services, rendered during the siege 
of Prague by the Swedes in the year 1648. 

The Old Judenfriedhof (cemetery), in Hebrew „Beth- 
Chajim" i. e. House of Life, on an area of 1*23 hektar, 
is in a lane, left of the Hampasgasse. Numberless tomb- 
stones in various positions, old lilac bushes, and many tales 
and stories, referring to this place, impart to this cemetery 
a picturesque and mystic character. The supposition, that 
this cemetery existed already in the VH. century, and is 
older than Prague itself, is erroneous and arose from the 
incorrect reading of the numeral (606 instead of 1606) on 
the tomb-stone of Sarah Kohn. Since emperor Joseph II. 
it is not used as a burial place any more. The most intere- 
sting tomb-stones are: The temple-like sarkophag of the 
scholar Rabbi Low, called the „high L5w," surrounded by 
the tomb-stones of his 33 favourite pupils; the tomb-stone 
of Mardochai Meissel, of the Rabbi Oppenheim, of Hendele 
Schmieles, whose husband has been knighted by Ferdinand II. 
in the year 1622 for several services, with the predicate 
von Treuenberg etc. The signs on the stones seem to refer 
to the tribe, to which the deceased under the tomb belonged 
(for inst. a grape refers to the tribe of Israel, two hands 
to Aron, a can to Levi), or they refer to his name (a lion 
to Low, a fish to Fischeles or Karpeles, a hen to Hahn). 
The Agnescloister in the Agnesgasse with its church in 
early gothic style, is at present wholly neglected, though it 
is highly worthy of seeing. The monastery has been foun- 
ded in the year 1234 by princess Agnes, daughter of Pfe- 
mysl Ottokar 1. for the nuns of the order of St. Clara, but 
was devastated by the Hussites, transferred to the Domini- 
cans in the year 1556, returned to the nuns again in the 
year 1625, and at last entirely abolished in the year 1782. 
The Frane Joseph-Bridge leads from the Elisabethstrasse 
(EliSfiina tffda) to the Baumgarten (Stromovka), to the Belve- 
dere-Promenades and to the VII. city ward Holeshovitz. 
The light, elegant construction was executed from the plans 
of the English engineers Ordish and Lefeuvre in tie years 1865 
till 1868. 



36 

Along the Elisabethstrasse (£lis6ina tfida) we get to the 
Josephsplatz (Josefsk^ n&m^sti); on its east side stands the 
Franz Josephskaserne, a castle-lik« building, and adjoining 

the Capuchiffs Hospice and St. Joseph's Church, con- 
taining two paintings by Skreta and the tomb of Fieldmar- 
shal Brown, who fell in the battle of Prague in the 
year 1757. 

From here to the east, stretches the PoH£ (Na poH51), 
inhabited by a German colony in the XI. century, and there- 
fore called vicus teutonicorum till the XIII. century. The 
German settlers erected in the Petersgasse (U sv. Petra) 
the Kirche zu St, Peter (St. Peter's Church) in the gothic 
style, or properly speaking reconstructed it from a roma- 
nesque building. The chief altar is by Rainer; on a side- 
altar there is a Maria Magdalena by Skreta. 

At the end of Po?i5 is the railway-station of the dsterr. 
Nordwestbahn with a beautiful portal, and to the right the 
kleine Stadtpark with a monument by Jos. Max, represen- 
ting a resting lion, in memory of the soldiers, who fell in 
the years 1848 and 1849. In the southern part of the 
park-grounds rises 

the stddtische Museum, opened on the 10*^ of May 
1883, considerably enlarged by an additional building for 
the preservation of memorials of art, especially of those, 
that have reference to the city of Prague. 

It contains a rich collection of old weapons, pictures 
and statues, as well as illustrations and prints, referring to 
the history of Prague. 

Along the Florenz (Na Florenci) and Havlicekgasse 
(Havli^kova ulice) we pass to the Hibernergasse (Hibernskd 
ulice) ; opposite the Pulverturm (PraSnd brdna) is 

the Custom-house (Haupt/sollamt), formerly a monastery 
of the Hibernians, who erected a church of St. Ambrosius 
in the year 1652. After its' abolition under emperor Jo- 
seph II. it became a theatre, and in the year 1810 it was 
reconstructed to serve its present purpose. 

From the Pulverturm towards west, extends the prin- 
cipal street of the city, the Graben (Na pfikop6', named 
from a moat, which formerly separated the Altstadt from 
the Neustadt. It is the busiest street and has following 
prominent buildings: 



i 

1 

I 



o 



7 



The magnificent Zivnostensk^ banka (Trader's bank), 
erected in the years 1899 — 1900; farther 

the German Casino {Beutsches Haus, on the left), pro- 
perty of the German Union and a gathering-place of the 
Germans in Prague. 

Adjoining to it on the place, where the former Bohe- 
mian Museum building used to stand, is the magnificent 
Geskd zemskd banka (BOhmische Landesbank); farther on 
the Nenst&dter Gymnasium with the Ereuzchurch and oppo- 
site the Bergmannsgasse (Havli'skd ulice) 

the Count Albert Nostiz Palace^ which belonged in the 
XVII. century to Count Octavio Piccolomini, the rival of 
Wallenstein. It was built by K. J. Dienzenhofer and reno- 
vated in the years 1878 — 79. It contains now the Cecho- 
slavian ethnographical museum. 

Farther on rises the magnificent building of the Credit- 
anstalt far Handel und Gewerbe. 

The Venzelsplace (Ydclavsk^ ndm^stl) branches off from 
the Graben to the south. It is one of the largest and 
finest squares of Prague (682*75 m long and 60 m wide). 

In the centre of the Venzelsplatz, the Heinrichsgasse (Jin- 
dfi§sk4 ulice) branches off to the left, and its corner is 
formed by a magnificent building of the Assicurazioni Generali. 
At the end of this street rises the St. Heinrichskirche with 
its belfry. The church was commenced under Charles IV.; 
the belfry dates from the XV. century. In the Heinrichs- 
gasse are the Post offices and the Telegraph offices. 

On the upper end of the Venzelsplatz rises the monu- 
mental building of the new 

Landes- or National-Museum and forms a fitting con- 
clusion of this square. This magnificent edifice, built at the 
expense of the country, contains the collections and library, 
which could hardly find room in the old building. The 
edifice forms a rectangle 103 m in length and Tim in width; 
and it has in the interior two courts of 1000 m^ size each. 
The building rises on a solid foundation, three stories high. 
Before the front there is a terrace, with perrons; in the 
centre there are large fliers. In the ground-floor are the 
lodgings of the officers and servants. In the higher floor 
are halls for public lectures, for botanical collections, the 



88 

library with reading-rooms and halls for the exhibition 
of manuscripts, miniatures and rare paintings. A double-sided 
stair-case leads through two stories to the cupola-space, the 
entrance to the collections, in which are placed the busts 
and statues of men, who have deserved well of the country. 
In this floor are the halls of geological and mineralogical 
collections, while the rooms of the 2. floor contain zoological, 
ethnographical, historical, numismatic and chart collections. 
The architecture of the whole building is done in the most 
beautiful renaissance style; the expenses of its construction 
amount to 1,800.000 fl. From the Museum extends to- 
wards north 

the grosse StadiparJc (MSstsky^ sad) having a length of 
almost 700 m and a width of 80 — 125 on the grounds of 
the former fortifications till to the Havli5ekplatz (Havli^kovo 
ndmSsti). The centre of these beautiful grounds with taste- 
fully arranged flowerbeds, groups of trees and a play-ground 
for children, forms a pond, surrounded by artificial rocks 
and with a water-fall; above it rises the Franz Josephs 
railway-station. 

Above the town-park rises on the grounds of the once 
Neustadter Theater 

the New German Theatre {neues deutsches Theater) built 
from voluntary contributions of the Germans in Bohemia, and 
opened on the 6*^ January 1888. Adjoining to the theatre- 
building and connected with it through several passages, is 
the deutsche Theatergarten with an excellent restaurant. In 
fine weather regular concerts are held there. Along the 
Wassergasse (VodiCkova ulice) we pass from the Wenzelsplatz 
into the Jungmannsplatz (Jungmanovo ndmSsti), formerly 
Maria Schneeplatz with a monument of the Bohemian scholar 
Joseph Jungmann, unveiled on the 15*^ May in the year 1878. 

The Maria-Schnee-Church with a Franciscan convent, 
was founded by Emperor Charles IV. in the year 1347, and 
given over to the Carmelites. These were expelled by the 
Hussites and the cloister destroyed in the year 1420, but 
the steeple of the church was so much injured in the fights 
between the inhabitants of the Altstadt and of the Neustadt, 
that it fell in. Since the year 1603 the cloister and church 
belong to the Franciscans, who suffered severely many times 
especially during the inroad of the Passovians in the year 



39 

1617. The church is the highest in Prague and has 
a heautiful Salutation by the Angel from Rainer. 

The Jungmannsgasse opens into the Karlsplate (Karlovo 
ndmSsti), formerly named Yiehmarkt, the largest garden- 
grounds with promenades in Prague. In its northern part 
there is a monument to the Bohemian poet V. IMek. The 
most noteworthy buildings are: 

The Neustddter Bathaus (the former Townhall) to 
the north, was founded by Charles IV. and entirely rebuilt 
in the year 1806, and only the tower remained from the 
year 1451. Before this building the Hussite war took its 
beginning in the year 1419, the city-counsellors having been 
hurled out of windows on the erected pikes of the enraged 
people. At present it is tho seat of the Criminal Court. 

The Ignae-Church to the east was built by the Jesuits in 
the year 1678, and since the abolition of this order serves 
as a garrison- church ; in which the Jesuits, introduced there 
again in the year 1866, provide for the divine worship. It 
has two good paintings by Heintsch. The adjoining former 
college of the Jesuits serves as Imp. Roy, garrison-hospital. 
To the west of the Karlsplatz rises 

the Bohemian Polytechnicum, a beautiful building with 
collections. The Franz Joseph's Children's Hospital^ founded 
in the year 1841 by Dr. Kratzmann. 

On the east side of the Karlsplatz is the Deaf and 
Dumb Asylum. The building belonged in the XIV. and 
XV. centuries to the Dukes of Troppau ; in the XVIII. cen- 
tury it was gained by the lords Mladota of Solopisk. Since 
1838 it belongs to the Deaf and Dumb Institution, supported 
by private contributions. For a long time it was popularly 
called the „Faust-Haus", because according to a tradition 
the magician Faust lived there. Close to it stands 

the hospital (Allgemeines KranJcenhaus), founded by 
Joseph in the year 1790, and considerably enlarged in the 
year 1839. Connected with it are other medical and scientific 
^ institutions of the German University, for which grand buildings 
have been erected of late. Thereto belong in the Kranken- 
hausgasse (U nemocnice) the pathologisch-anatomische Lehr- 
anstalt, and opposite, the Imp. Roy. Anatomical, the Imp. Roy. 
medico-chemical Institution, and the Imp. Roy. Institution of 
Natural History. 



40 

The St Stephanschurch stood already in the Xin. cen- 
tury ; under Charles lY. a new building was begun, which was 
completed only in the beginning of the XV. century. Under 
king Mathias in the year 1612 a new reconstruction took 
place. The most recent restoration of the building dates 
from the years 1855 — 56, and of the tower from the year 
1876. The former cemetery, by which it was enclosed, was 
transformed into the Teichgasse. Remarkable are in the in- 
terior of the church the old gothic pulpit, and a pewter 
baptism-basin from the year 1462 and many tomb-stones. 
A little aside stands the pointed belfry (the oldest of the 
four bells date from 1490 and 1516) and in the parson's 
garden in the Teichgasse (Na rybnl6ku) the old romauesque 
Longinus Chapel from the 12. century. 

The Lying-in Hospital at the corner of the Earlshof 
(U Karlova) and of ApoUinargasse (Apolin&fskd ulice) is 
a magnificent building in gothic style, from the designs of 
the architect Hl&vka, commenced in the year 1867 and 
handed over to its destination in 1875. At the end of the 
Karlshofergasse (U Earlova) rises 

the Karlshof. Charles IV. founded here in memory of 
Charlemagne in the year 1377 the Mary- Ascension Church 
together with a monastery for the Augustine-order, invited 
from France. 

The monastery was abolished in the year 1785 and 
transformed into an Infirmary for the poor of Prague. The 
church is a work of Peter Parler of GmUnd and one of the 
most valuable gothic edifices of the XIV. century. It has 
suffered much and often in the course of ages, so from the 
Hussites in the year 1420, from a riot in 1611, during 
the Thirty years war and in the year 1757. The repairs, 
which consequently became necessary, were without taste and 
out of keeping with the style. From the original building 
only the splendid cupola remained, a bold, magnificent star- 
vault with a diameter of 23*7 m, and no other gothic archi- 
tecture can show more. Among the pictures are remarkable : 
St. Anna and St. Salvator by Heintsch; on the new altar 
there is a Madonna as central picture, on the side-wings 
St. Wenzel, Charles the Great, painted on gold ground by 
Lhota. In the two windows on the east side are old glass- 
paintings from the time of Vladislav 11. , representing Charles 



41 

the Great and the coat-of-arms of the Qaeen Anna de Foix, 
the spouse of Vladislav. 

From the Karlshof we pass along the Berggasse (Horskd 
ulice) into the Slupgasse (Na Slupi) to 

the Mary 'Annunciation Church. On this place a cha- 
pel used to stand already before Charles lY., and he foun- 
ded a monastery in connection with it in the year 1360. 

It was greatly injured by the Hussites, but rebuilt again 
in the year 1665. The altar-picture of the church, the 
vault of which rests on a single pillar, is by Kuppelwieser. 

At the end of the Slupergasse is the Elisabethinerinnen- 
Hospital with a church, the botanical garden of the two 
universities, and opposite to the latter is the Poorhouse at 
St. Bartholomew. 

The Church of St. John Nepomuk on the „Rock" in 
the Vyschehraderstrasse (VySehradskd tffda) was built by 
K. J. Dienzenhofer in the year 1730. It has beautiful 
frescoepaintings and on the chief altar is a wooden statue of 
St. John of Nepomuk by Prokov, which served as a model 
to the metal statue on the Karlsbrflcke. Opposite to the 
church is 

the Benedictine Abbey Emaus with the Mary Ascension 
Church, erected by Charles IV. in the years 1348—1372 
and given over to the Benedictines from Dalmatia and 
Croatia for the Divine Service held in the Slavonic language. 
During the inroad of the Passovians in the year 1611 the 
monastery was plundered and its rich library destroyed; in 
the year 1635 it passed over to the Benedictines of Montserrat ; 
in the year 1880 the Benedictines of Beuron bought the mo- 
nastery and church and employ themselves to the restoration 
in their original style. The frescoes in the gothic cloister 
from the time of Charles IV. Near the vestry is the „ king's 
ChapeP, which the Slavonic Benedictines used originally as 
chapter-hall. From this monastery came the famous Gospel 
in Cyrillic characters, on which the French kings formerly 
did the coronation- oath, and which is kept in Rheims as 
„Texte du sacre". The small Church of St. Cosmas and Damian 
near the church in the court stood already in the X. century, 
but was built in its present shape in the year 1657. 

The Vyshehrad consists of the castle or bastion on 
a rock, and of the mining-town Vyschehrad ; the latter con- 



42 

sists of a single street, leading across the square to the first 
gate of the castle. A road, brocken through the rocks, 
leads to the proper historically interesting 

Castle Vyshehrad (i. e. higher castle). The old Castle 
of the Bohemian princess rose on the southern extremity of 
the rock, in the vicinity of the present arsenal. The Bohe- 
mian princes resided there till the XIL, at least for a time, 
and held their assizes there; but in the XIII. century the 
royal castle became desolate. King Charles IV. fortified the 
Vyshehrad in 1348 and Wenzel IV. resided there more often. 
During the Hussite war the castle was besieged by the in- 
habitants of Prague, and had to surrender to the Hussites 
after the battle of Pankratz (on the 1** November 1420), 
which turned out unfortunately for Sigismund. The Hussites 
turned all the magnificent edifices, among that number 14 
churches, into a heap of ruins, of which not a trace re- 
mained. 

After the Thirty Years war the Vyshehrad was to be 
fortified again, for which purpose the last old ruins were 
removed, only the spires of the Collegiate-Church of St. Peter 
and Paul, as well as of St. Martin's Chapel, remained as 
memorials of the oldest architecture. 

The Collegiate ' Church of St. Peter and Paul was 
erected by Vratislav II. in the years 1070—1080. The 
original romanesque basilica lost a great deal of its former 
size and beauty in consequence of wars and renovation. 

The chief altar is by Rainer^ a Mary Magdalena by 
Skreta, the altar picture of the „Poor Souls" by Heintsch; 
an old Bohemian Madonna-picture dates from the XIV. cen- 
tury. The wall-painting above the vestry represents Prague, 
as it is said to have been before the year 1420. 

The cemetery contains many beautiful tombstones ; here 
are buried the most prominent Bohemian scholars, poets, 
artists, the physiologist Job. Purkyn6(1787 — 1869), Wenzel 
Hanka (1791—1861), V. Hdlek (1835—1874), B. Jablon- 
sk^ (1813 — 1881), the greatest Bohemian musical .composer 
Smetana (f 1884), the sculptor Wenzel Lev^ (1820—1870) etc. 

The St. Martin's Chapel on the road-side is one of 
the oldest architectonical memorials of Prague. This ro- 
manesque building is said to have been erected by St. Adal- 
bert ont he spot, where a heathen temple used to stand. 



1 



43 



The Promenades. 

The most favourite promenade in the town is the Gra- 
ben, the Wenzelsplatz, the Franzensquay, the Stadtpark, the 
Sophieninsel and the Schutzeninsel ; in the latter during 
summer military band concerts take place several times 
a week. 

The Hasenhurg on the eastern declivity of the Lauren- 
zenberg, has extensive garden-grounds with a restaurant and 
a fine view of the town. A cable- tramway ascends from 
the Aujezd (Na Ujezde) to the Hasenhurg, and facilitates 
the enjoyment of a most charming view from the Petfin 
View-Tower. On the top of the Laurenziberg rises the 
church of St. Laurenz, which dates from the X. century and 
was rebuilt in the years 1735 — 1770. 

Before the church, in the open space is a chapel of 
the Holy Sepulchre, to which leads a cross- way with 14 sta- 
tions. The PetHn-tower is 60 m high and is open every 
day from 8 o'clock A. M. till 8 o'clock in the evening. Ad- 
mission-fee 40 h, children 20 h, with lift 1 K. In the 
groundfloor of the Petfin -tower there is an elegant Caf6 
with restaurant. Before the Petfin-tower is the Pavilion of 
the Bohemian Tourists Club, from the Jubilee-Exhibition in 
1891, with a large diorama painting, representing the de- 
fence of Prague against the Swedes, and a mirror-labyrinth. 

The Kronprinjs Budolphs-Anlagen (Sady korunniho prince 
Rudolfa) on the Belvedere offer a beautiful promenade and 
a fine view of the town; before the restaurant-building con- 
certs take place in summer. 

On application even the Hirschgraben, the Kinsky's, 
Lobkovitz's gardens are opened and worthy of a visit. 



Suburbs. 

Karolinenthal (Karlin) extends between the Moldau 
and the Zi^kaberg, is regularly situated and chiefly a place 
of manufactories and of industry. In the well cared for 
Jungmann's grounds (Jungmanovy sady) the St. Cyrill and 



44 

Method Church is remarkable, a fine basilika, opened in the 
year 1863, the thousandth anniversary of the apostles of 
the Slavians Cyrill and Method. At the foot of the ^iikaberg 
is the Invalidenhaus, founded under Charles YI. in the year 
1729 and completed in its present state by emperor Jo- 
seph II. 

Smichov on the left bank of the Moldau has quite the 
character of an important industrial town, and among its 
establishments are especially prominent Ringhofier's manu- 
factory of waggons. 

Worthy of seeing are the new St. Wenzel's Church 
in the Einskystrasse (Einsk^ho tHda), and the beautiful 
Einsky-garden above the former Aujezd-gate with a nice 
villa, artificial ponds, waterfalls and a wonderful view of 
the town. 

The Palack:^-Bridge (Most Palack^ho), connecting the 
Smichov with the Neustadt, is 228 m long, and is built 
entirely of granite square-stones. 

On the east side of Smichov is the Westbahnhof, con- 
nected by a rail-bridge with the Franz-Josephsbahn. 

The suburbs kOnigl. Weinberge (Vinohrady) and Zi2kov 
have some beautiful buildings, but there is nothing remar- 
kable about them. The same may be said of the other 
suburbs. 

The Environs of Prague. 

The Baumgarten (Er&lovsk& obora) (elec. tramway from 
the Josephsplatz) is one of the finest park-grounds in cen- 
tral Europe. Formerly is was a deer-garden, but now is 
the most favourite promenade of the fashionable people of 
Prague. Beautiful walks, artificial ponds with islands and 
old tree-groups offer to the visitor great enjoyment. Before 
the restaurant, below the castle the military brass-band plays 
every Sunday and Thursday. The castle, from the time 
of Vladislav II., is the summer-residence of the Statthalter 
or governor. 

In the eastern part of the park extend the Exhibi- 
tion-grounds, on which the jubile exhibition (1891) took 
place; the Belcredistrasse connects it directly with Prague. 



45 

The Stern — HvSzda (from the Graben across the Hrad- 
chin 1 % hour on foot ; by rail-way st. Libotz of the Buschtie- 
hrader Bahn it takes from the Staatsbahnhof 40 min. Formerly 
it was a deer-garden, and now a favourite excursion place 
of the people of Prague. Its name Stern (star) is derived 
from the castle, which archduke Ferdinand, husband of the 
lovely Philippine Welser, erected in 1555 in the shape of 
a star with six rays. Of the former artistic ornaments of 
its chambers remained only some valuable stucco-works on 
the ceiling. Since the year 1785 till 1873 it served as 
a powder-store. In the year 1873 it was cleared and ope- 
ned to visitors for inspection. In the deer-garden there are 
extensive promenades, forest-groves and a restaurant. In 
shady hollow near the hunting-seat there is a stone with an 
inscription, marking the spot, from where Frederick II., king 
of Prussia, is said to have directed the siege of Prague 
(1757). 

From the village Libotz stretches towards north the 
wild Sharka, a valley three hours' walk long, rich in wild 
romantic beauties of nature and picturesque groups of rocks. 
To the west from the Stern stretches the White Hill, 
the scene of the memorable battle of the 8^^ November in 
1620, in which the Bohemians under their own elected king 
Frederick V. of the Palatinate, were conquered by the army 
of emperor Ferdinand II. under the command of Maximilian 
of Bavaria in less than an hour. A church of Maria de 
Victoria has been erected there in commemoration of this 
victory. It stands in the centre of a cloister, full of chapels 
and pictures by Marias Wundern. Above the entrance a bas- 
relief shows the Madonna, offering the victorious army victory 
over the enemy, put to flight. On Mary days many pilgrims 
flock to this church. The Benedictine Abbey St. Margareth 
(Bfevnov) on the road from the Stem to Prague is the first 
monastery for men in Bohemia. It was founded by Boleslav II. 
in the year 993, repeatedly destroyed and erected in its 
present shape in the years 1701 — 1736. In the church there 
are several paintings by Brandel, an old reliquiary, a hand- 
bone of St. Margareth, which has been transferred there on 
the 13*^ June 1262; in memory of it a popular feast is held 
there annually on the Sunday after St. Margareth. The 
monastery possesses a beautiful library and an archive; 

4» 



46 

there is also among other treasures an autogram by St. 
Adalbert from the X. century. 

A very pearl among all the places of excursion is the 
castle Karlstein (Karluv Ty^^n). Visitors in Prague should 
not omit to make an excursion to this historically famous 
castle, which produces on the looker on a deep and lasting 
impression. By the Bohem. Westbahn it takes only an 
hours time (Rail-way station Karlstein). 

From the station you pass an iron bridge through the 
borough Budfian to the castle. On a mighty rock, not far 
from the river Mies, rises the castle in the shape of a horse 
shoe, round a massive tower. The whole is surrounded by 
double, in some places by threefold walls. 

It was founded by Charles IV. in the year 1348, and 
built by Mathias von Arras from the model of the Pope's 
palace in Avignon. The foundation-stone has been laid on 
the 10*^ June 1348 by archbishop Ernst of Pardubitz. 
Charles intended it is a quiet country-seat for himself, and as 
a safe for the state treasures, documents and many relics. 
The lonely romantic country, the fortress almost impregnable 
at that time and with its science of war, the comperatively 
small distance from Prague of the rock, on which the castle 
stood, answered this purpose quite well. For the protection 
and defence of the castle 22 knights in the neighbourhood 
were stationed; the command was held by a burggrave, ap- 
pointed by the emperor and chosen from the nobility, to 
whom Wenzel IV. in the year 1405 added another burg- 
grave, selected from the knights. Besides this 20 vassals 
were appointed to man and protect the castle. In the 
year 1422 the Bohemian estates and towns rebelled against 
emperor Sigmund, acknowledged the Luthuanian Prince Sig- 
mund Korybut as their administrator, marched on the 
20*^ May with an army before the Castle Karlstein in order 
to take possession of it. The number of the besiegers 
amounted to many thousands, that of the besieged only to 
4 hundred. The besiegers exhausted, in the course of six 
months, all the war-like art of their century. 

The stone missiles recoiled from the walls almost without 
any effect. The besieged suffered more from catapults, 
which hurled 9032 stones, 1822 barrels of dirt and 22 bar- 
rels with fire into the castle. 



47 

Emperor Sigismahd did not repair the damages, caused 
during the siege in the castle, but took away a large part 
of its treasures to defray the increasing expenses, which th- 
war with the Hussites entailed upon him. On the 23^ Fee 
bruary 1487 the castle was destroyed by a fire, but the state- 
jewels were saved. Rudolph II. did his best to restore 
Karlsteiu, but he impaired by his orders many valuable 
memorials of art, if they did not suit his taste. In the 
year 1620 the castle containd a garrison of 600 English 
and Scotch soldiers, who surrendered to the imperial general 
prince Liechtenstein after the battle on the White Hill, 
and were allowed free passage. The thorough repair of the 
castle, commenced in the year 1889 at public expenses, is 
drawing to its end now, and the castle presents to the 
visitor a most interesting specimen of the oldest archi- 
tecture. 

Through the first gate, which was closed seventy years 
with a falling railing, and for the protection of which 
a square watch-tower rises to the left, we pass on along 
a ramparted road into the second gate. In the fore-yard 
we meet a keeper, who will be our guide. The chief build- 
ing of the castle is five stories high. In the first building 
in the ground-floor are stables, barns, and above them the 
chapel of St. Nicholas, which arose to, gether with the castle 
adjusted at an earlier date than the other chapels, and 
destined for Divine Service for the vassals. Immediately 
above the chapel of St. Nicholas was the palace of the em- 
peror. The upper story contained a hall, probably a dining- 
room and three side-chambers, all with Welsh fire-sides. 

The Mary-Church. The interior of the same suffered 
much from the restoration by Rudolph. The walls are covered 
with paintings, representing in rich composition scenes from 
the Apokalypse with short introductory inscriptions. On the 
southern wall near the enstrance-door to the Catharine Chapel 
are three portraits of Charles IV., namely: Charles IV. 
approaches in full imperial vestments his spouse Blanca and 
offers her a gold wreath ; Charles IV^ receives from a crowned 
youth a crystal; Charles IV. stands before a cross with 
relics. On the eastern wall stands an altar- work consisting 
of 3 parts, which formerly stood on the chief altar of the 
Palmatius-Church in Budnan, and which probably dates from 



48 

the time of Vladislav 11. On the Welsh fire-side of the 
eastern wall stand 2 wings of a tryptychon, of which the 
one represents Mary with the Child, the other the Man of 
Sorrow; the latter bears the name of the artist Thomas v. 
Mutina. The St. Nicholas statue in the same place is taken 
from the Karlstein Nicholas Chapel, and is said to have been 
made by the hand of Charles IV. 

The Catharine-Chapel was the smallest among the cha- 
pels of Karlstein, but most splendidly adorned, and has been 
excellently preserved. The altarstone is covered with paint- 
ings from the time of Charles. The walls were laid out 
with gems and gold. Above the door is the portrait of 
Charles IV. with his spouse Anna. The antipendium shows 
a beautiful crucifixion, and on the epistleside of the altar 
is a St. Catharine. The picture in the niche represents 
a Madonna with the Child, which raises its hand in order 
to bless the kneeling Charles IV. . On the north wall there 
is a stripe with gothic arches with 7 heads of saints beneath. 
In the windows near the altar are still the remains of former 
glasspaintings. Especially remarkable is the marble statue 
of the Madonna with her Child. 

The highest part of the castle is the Chief Tower, 
whose colossal walls, 4 met. thick, contain the magnificent 
church of the holy Cross, whose precincts were formerly the 
safe of state-treasures and many relics. The tower is five 
stories high, designed in an oblong quadrangle, 26 met. long, 
23 wide and 37 met. high. It is surrounded by bulwarks 
with five watch-houses; through one of them we pass now 
into the tower; formerly the entrance was through a gate, 
now walled up, and across a draw-bridge which disappeared 
long ago. Quite below are two vaults, which served as pri- 
sons. The walls along the stair-caise contain highly intere- 
sting wall-paintings from the legend of St. Wenzel and Lud- 
mila. In the second story are spacious rooms, empty and 
bare; the strong iron railing bears visible traces of the da- 
mages, suffered during the Hussite wars. In one of these 
rooms lies still a stupendous stone near the window, through 
which it was hurled in. Over twenty four steps -we ascend 
the famous Kreuz-Kapelle (chapel of the holy cross.). An 
iron bar, ten bolts and nine hanging locks once protected 
the entrance, which was also sometimes sealed. On entering 



49 

the interior of the chapel the visitor is surprised at the 
unexpected magnificence, the rich works of art, which have 
been heaped up here in the middle of the XIV. century. 
A gilt iron grate 2 m high and 8 m long divides the space 
of the chapel ; of the nuraerotis gems, which once were hang- 
ing on this grate, only one fine chrisopras of considerable 
size remained; the rest became the prey of greediness. 

' Along the walls there are 21 chests which formerly 
contained privileges, important state-documents of the King- 
dom of Bohemia. In the window-niches are paintings, prob- 
ably illustrating the Apocalypsis. The ceiling represented 
formerly the sky; the sun, moon and the stars were of gold, 
silver and crystal; now remain only traces of the heavenly 
bodies, which have disappeared long ago. 

The most remarkable sight are the paintings from the 
XIV. century, which are nowhere to be met with so rich, 
genuine, except in Italy. A beautiful view opens from the 
tops of the towers. 

The well of the Earlstein is also remarkable. It is 
hewn in a hard rock and very deep (154*7 iw). A stone, 
thrown down, requires considerable time to reach the sur- 
face of the water. Above, there is a treadwheel, which four 
strong men must move in order to draw water. A certain 
number of menials used to perform this work in old times. 




Die 



Kirchen. Gebiude und AnstaltMi. 



1. Amerikm (Vila) F 8. 

2. AaatDausches InstiL E 8. 

3. Assicvaz. Gcner. F 6—7. 

4. HjpoCbekealMnk G %. 

5. Prater Borse F 6. 

%. Osterr.-imgar Buk F & 
7. Bohm. UnioobaBk F 6. 
& Bbndeninst, KlancfaesDSL 
9. Prodakteoborse F 6. 

la ChemLiseh. lAstimt E 8. 

U. Theresan. DamensUft C& 

12. FrehrehL Daneiiatift F & 

13. Landesbank F 6. 

14 Direkt. d. k. k. 9tb. G 6. 

15. St. Adalbertaktrehe E T. 

16. Fravenerverb-Verein E 7. 

17. Gamisonsspital E 8. 

18. Bnbischofl. Palais B 5. 

19. Malenaald. NaL-Th.B9. 

20. Gebarfaavs ¥ 9. 

21. Altstadter deatseh. auat». 
gjaiiiasiiuB E 6. 

22. Xenstid. deutscfa. Scaats 
gjBnasnnii. Graben F 6. 

23. Klonseitner dentseh. Real- 
v. ObergymnaaJnm C 6. 

24. Xeustad. Staatsgyouiasiain 
Scephansgasse F 7. 

25. Deatgcfa. StaatsgymnasJmn 
Smiehow C 8. 

2S Rbcemeh., Weinbrg. G 8. 

27. Devt. Bandels3kadem. ES. 

28. Handelsspital F 9. 

29. Dent. Bandwerkerrer. F7. 
ao. HanptaoDamt, k. k. F & 

31. Irrenanatalt F 8, 9. 

32. Kindenpital, dentseh. E 8. 

33. Kmderspital, bohm. F 9. 

34. Adalbertskirehe D 7. 
as. Egidikirehe E & 

as. Asneskirehe F 5. 

37. Ailerfaeiliiren-Kirehe C 5. 

38. St. ApoUinarkirche E 9. 

39. St. BaKholom.-Eirche E 7. 

40. Dretfaltigkeitskirche E 9. 

41. GaOikirche E 6. 

42. HL G«istkirche E 5. 

43. Georgskirehe C S. 

44. Heinriehskirehe F 6. 
46. Ignatiiiskirche E 8 

46. Jakobskirebe F 8. 

47. St. Johann am Felsen E 8. 
4& Kloster d. en^Friol. C 6. 

49. St. Kajetankirehe B 5. 

50. St. Kathaiinenkirche F 8. 

51. Klemenskircbe F S. 

52. Klementskirche, Bubna F 4 

53. Kreiixher.Klosterkirche D6. 

54. LAoranzkirche B 7. 

55. Lorettokirehe A 5. 

56. LndmSlakirehe G 8. 

57. lfaltes«rkirehe C 6. 

56. Maria Schneekirche E 7. 

58. KarmeHterkircbe C 6. 

60. Irrenanstaltfiliale E 9. 

61. Niklaskirche C 6. 

62. RasBiaehe Kirche E 6. 



63. Peteiskirche G S. 

m. Peter a. Paolkirefae B 10. 

Prokopikirehe J 6. 

Rochoskirehe A 6. 

67. Roehnakirehe, Woiaeh. K7. 

68. Stephanskirehe F 8. 

69. I>r«a£alti«keitskircfae E 7. 
7a FrsoL, Klost. n. Kirche D7. 

71. Vehs-Dora C 5. 

72. Wenxelskircbe' C 8. 

73. Dentsche VolkakOehe E 7. 

74. Krankenhaos, ADg. E 8. 

75. Bamhemge Brfider E 5. 
7& EtisabethiDeriBiMfi E 9. 

77. Klost. d. Baxmh. Schw. B 6. 

78. Knnkenhans, Israel. B 5. 

79. Landesgerieht F 6. 

80. LandeekidtarTat F 7. 

81. Landtagsgebaade C 5. 

82. Leihamt F 6. 

83. Lese o. Redehalle deotaeh. 
Stad. F 7. 

84. MOnsamt e. Lotto-KoL E S 
86. Madeh.-Lyeenm, dent. E 7. 

86. Manner-Turarer., d.T. B 7. 

87. Landee-M oaeam D 7. 

88. Stadt. Maseom G S. 

89. Kanstgewerbl. Museum E 5 

90. Geverbe- Museum E 6. 

91. Etnogr. Museum B 8. 

92. Landeshanptkaaaa C 6. 

93. Pathologtsehes Inst, der 
dentseh. rnhrers. E 8. 

94. PoUzei-Direktion E 7. 

95. Post- n. Telegr.-INr. F 7. 

96. Deotsehe Realsehnle E 7. 

97. Smidiower Realsehnle C7. 
96. Oberrealschnle, dentseh., 

Karolinental G 5. 
99. Palais Schwarzenberg E 7 

100. Altst. Rathans E 6. 

101. Realschnle-bohm. J 5. 
l'>2. Dent. StaatsKjmnas. C 8 
I'yQ. Rathans, 2iikow J 6. 

104. Rndolfinnm D 5. 

105. Sieehenhans F 9. 

106. Sparkassa, Bohm. D 7. 
IX. Sparkassa, Stadtische E 6. 

108. Statthalterei, k. k. C 6. 

109. Stemwarte D 6. 

U'^. Strafgeneht, k. k. E 7. 

111. Landesthealer, Dent. E 6. 

112. Dentseh. Theat., Ken. G 7. 

113. Dent. Sommertheat. G 7. 

114. Nationahheater D 7. 

115. Theater Vari«t4 H 5. 

116. Teehnik, deatsche B 6. 

117. Technik, deehische E 8. 

118. Teinkirehe E 6. 

119. TnrnTerein, Dentseh. F 7. 

120. Karolinnm E 6. 

121. Klementlnnm DE 6. 

122. Waisenhans, Italien. B 6. 

123. Waisenhans, Sadt. A 6. 

124. Waisenhans an St. Johann 

F 8. 

125. Zeughaus C 6. 



r>* 



. 




MAP COLLECTION 



I . 



ntmed by Preservation 1991